1. Welcome to Smogon Forums! Please take a minute to read the rules.
  2. New to the forums? Check out our Mentorship Program!
    Our mentors will answer your questions and help you become a part of the community!

Technical Support (read OP before posting!)

Discussion in 'Pokemon Online' started by Rising_Dusk, May 7, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Stellar

    Stellar true and everlasting
    is a member of the Site Staffis a Super Moderatoris a Community Contributoris a Battle Server Admin Alumnusis a CAP Contributor Alumnusis a Researcher Alumnusis a Contributor Alumnusis a SPL Winner
    Orange Islands

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Messages:
    3,438
    The only conclusion I can reach is that you have been banned as part of a ranged IP ban. Post in this forum explaining the situation. PM me when you have posted your thread and I will fill in any missing details.
  2. KYCygni

    KYCygni

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Uh I second this.

    I've left this thread alone for a while knowing that it doesn't get that much attention, but honestly, has no one got any ideas? =/ Anything that might help?

    I've read above that Ben got his ban lifted, perhaps I can't get in because I'm region banned for some reason? I'm really new as in spanking shiny glossy brand new noob, and I can't get onto the best server on PO.

    Thanks. =)
  3. Rising_Dusk

    Rising_Dusk
    is a Site Staff Alumnusis a Team Rater Alumnusis a Battle Server Admin Alumnusis a Programmer Alumnusis a Super Moderator Alumnusis a CAP Contributor Alumnusis a Smogon Media Contributor Alumnusis a Contributor Alumnus

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    4,806
    I can't magically solve all problems. Most people (yourself included) don't provide nearly enough information to figure stuff out. Furthermore, I'm the only one that can even check for range bans, and you and about ten dozen other people ask me these things at any given time. If you can't be patient or can't be bothered to provide enough information, you can't hold it against me for ignoring it. If you have enough information and are serious about this, don't post here, post a new thread where Cecil linked above.
  4. The 1 and Only Lady Gaga

    The 1 and Only Lady Gaga

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Messages:
    500
    I tried to connect on the Smogon Server with the Advanced Connection (74.50.98.226:5080) and this is what happened:

    "Error while connected to server -- Received error n°7: Connection timed out"

    Is there a solution for this?
  5. KYCygni

    KYCygni

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Thanks for the response. =)

    My first post listed all the troubleshooting steps I've taken, I'm not sure what more I can provide. I understand you're under stress, but I just want to get this sorted as much as you do. =) If there's anything more I can provide, then please tell me, don't insult me with being lazy because I'm not, I'm just new. If I knew what was wrong I wouldn't be posting, hehe. =)

    Do any of the current members have any ideas? Anyone who has had the same problem?
  6. Stellar

    Stellar true and everlasting
    is a member of the Site Staffis a Super Moderatoris a Community Contributoris a Battle Server Admin Alumnusis a CAP Contributor Alumnusis a Researcher Alumnusis a Contributor Alumnusis a SPL Winner
    Orange Islands

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Messages:
    3,438
    Could you try to connect one more time for me?

    If that doesn't work, can you please list any programs (anti-virus, etc.) you have running in the background?
  7. KYCygni

    KYCygni

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Thanks for the quick response. =)

    Still nothing, it takes a long time to come up with the error though if that helps.

    Malwarebytes is running in the background only that's, well anti malware. xD

    Windows firewall is off.

    edit: Also, PO is on the exceptions list.

    Programs running:
    Utorrent - shhh. ;)
    PO
    iTunes
    Mozilla

    Thanks for your patience. =)
  8. Stellar

    Stellar true and everlasting
    is a member of the Site Staffis a Super Moderatoris a Community Contributoris a Battle Server Admin Alumnusis a CAP Contributor Alumnusis a Researcher Alumnusis a Contributor Alumnusis a SPL Winner
    Orange Islands

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Messages:
    3,438
    Atticus had the same problem with Malwarebytes. You can try turning it completely off and connecting to Smogon server. Doing that allowed him to connect. You can just turn it back on when you aren't using PO.
  9. KYCygni

    KYCygni

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Aha! That worked like a charm. =)

    Thanks so much for your help! ^^ Wonder why that causes problems though. =/ Still, I can just turn it on later. super happy. ^^
  10. Stellar

    Stellar true and everlasting
    is a member of the Site Staffis a Super Moderatoris a Community Contributoris a Battle Server Admin Alumnusis a CAP Contributor Alumnusis a Researcher Alumnusis a Contributor Alumnusis a SPL Winner
    Orange Islands

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Messages:
    3,438
    No problem, enjoy!
  11. buttered

    buttered

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Sometimes my battle window disappears.
  12. Stellar

    Stellar true and everlasting
    is a member of the Site Staffis a Super Moderatoris a Community Contributoris a Battle Server Admin Alumnusis a CAP Contributor Alumnusis a Researcher Alumnusis a Contributor Alumnusis a SPL Winner
    Orange Islands

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Messages:
    3,438
    Either you are closing it accidentally or there is a problem with Pokémon Online. There is really nothing we can do about it. Sorry! The only advice I can offer is uninstall and reinstall Pokémon Online.
  13. LeviLamprey

    LeviLamprey

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    1,158
    Error while connected to server -- Received error n°7: Connection timed out

    I'm having issues logging in for the first time. Is there something I'm missing? I've downloaded it but there's no response, just this error! Help!

    EDIT: This also. T_T Disconnected from the registry: Connection timed out
  14. PCMario64

    PCMario64

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Ugh, I always get this message when I try to connect to smogons server...

    Your client version (1.0.21) doesn't match with the server's (1.0.20_
    Error while connected to server -- Received error n°1: The remote host closed the connection

    I have the latest version for leopard computers. Ive tried redownloading the program and nothing different happened. I can connect to PO server fine, so why cant I to this server? And I have also already tried advanced connection and nothing......
  15. Spaniard

    Spaniard

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2006
    Messages:
    241
    I haven't played on smogon's PO server for a while and I've forgotten my password.

    I was told to talk to rising duck.
  16. Lady Salamence

    Lady Salamence is a three-dimensional retard.
    is a Forum Moderator Alumnusis a Smogon Media Contributor Alumnusis a Contributor Alumnus

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,774
    Yeah.


    1. Change your account name.
    2. Go onto the server.
    3. IF it won't let you on, change it until it will let you on.
    4. Register the username.
    5. Type /auth administrators
    6. f you get this:
      Show Hide
      (09:51:32) *** Administrators ***
      (09:51:32) chaos (Offline)
      (09:51:32) dougjustdoug (Offline)
      (09:51:32) jumpman16 (Offline)
      (09:51:32) mekkah (Offline)
      (09:51:32) mingot (Offline)
      (09:51:32) philip7086 (Offline)
      (09:51:32) rising_dusk (Offline)
      (09:51:32) super (Offline)
    7. You'll have to wait.
    8. Every once in a while, (I suggest around once every 30 minutes) type the command again
    9. If you see any of the administrators colored green and has (Online) next to him, scroll down to the admin's username on the Player List
    10. Left click the administrator's username, and Click Send Message
    11. Now, tell the administrator your problem.
    12. Wait for him to respond.
    13. When he does respond (which might take a while), if you asked him properly, he should be able to understand, and reset the password on your main alt.
    14. NOTE: If you do not use the same IP as your main alt, your password will not be reset.
  17. Rising_Dusk

    Rising_Dusk
    is a Site Staff Alumnusis a Team Rater Alumnusis a Battle Server Admin Alumnusis a Programmer Alumnusis a Super Moderator Alumnusis a CAP Contributor Alumnusis a Smogon Media Contributor Alumnusis a Contributor Alumnus

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    4,806
    I will only ever reset the password of an account that is the same as your forum account. Your alts and such are pretty much lost if someone takes them and registers them, or if you forget the passwords on them. The moral of the story here is to not forget your passwords and to always register your alts.
  18. Spaniard

    Spaniard

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2006
    Messages:
    241
    The password i need to get reset is the one for my main account, spaniard (as in the forums). In fact if I ever use an alt I leave it open since I don't care if anyone want's to register it or use it.

    I obviously understand that I shouldn't forget my password, but I don't write them down anywhere.
  19. K´Genesis

    K´Genesis

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Starting today, Smogon's PO server won't let me type messages due to my nickname containing illegal characters(the same as my username here). Since my ranking is associated with it, what should I do?
  20. Fatecrashers

    Fatecrashers acta est fabula
    is a Site Staff Alumnusis an Artist Alumnusis a Super Moderator Alumnusis a Smogon Media Contributor Alumnusis a Contributor Alumnusis a Battle Server Moderator Alumnus

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,997
    you can't post messages in the main chat but you can still battle with that account, so i don't see why ranking should be a problem

    in future, make accounts with names that don't contain illegal characters ie don't use apostrophes
  21. K´Genesis

    K´Genesis

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Well...it would be nice to see my ranking(you know, through the /ranking command), because I'm monitoring it with my current team. And since there was no warning as to when this would happen, coupled with the fact that this was never a issue before today, there was little I could do about it.

    So, this means I can do nothing except abandon the nickname?
  22. Fatecrashers

    Fatecrashers acta est fabula
    is a Site Staff Alumnusis an Artist Alumnusis a Super Moderator Alumnusis a Smogon Media Contributor Alumnusis a Contributor Alumnusis a Battle Server Moderator Alumnus

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,997
    right click your name on the user list

    view ranking
  23. Rising_Dusk

    Rising_Dusk
    is a Site Staff Alumnusis a Team Rater Alumnusis a Battle Server Admin Alumnusis a Programmer Alumnusis a Super Moderator Alumnusis a CAP Contributor Alumnusis a Smogon Media Contributor Alumnusis a Contributor Alumnus

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    4,806
    I've taken care of this for you.
    I have adjusted the script to allow certain basic command functionality for users affected by the new chat filter. You should now be able to use /ranking.
  24. K´Genesis

    K´Genesis

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Thank you both for the attention and troubleshooting.
  25. Spaniard

    Spaniard

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2006
    Messages:
    241
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)