1. Welcome to Smogon! Check out the Smogon Starters Hangout for everything you need to know about starting out in the community. Don't forget to introduce yourself in the Introduction and Hangout Thread, too!
  2. Welcome to Smogon Forums! Please take a minute to read the rules.

Throh (WIP)

Discussion in 'Locked / Outdated Analyses' started by Danger Mouse, Aug 7, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Danger Mouse

Danger Mouse

This is my first time doing this, so bear with me if it's a bit sloppy. I saved the original to Notepad. Hopefully this skeleton is a good starting point. I can add further details if needed.
    [​IMG]
    Don't underestimate me!

[Overview]
    - Throh got the elemental punches in BW2, greatly improving his coverage.
    - 120/85/85 defenses make him the bulkiest fighting type in the game.
    - Access to Circle Throw allows him to phaze with his STAB attack.
    - With entry hazards on the opponent's side of the field, can easily force enemy teams to rack up residual damage.
    - Enemy teams carrying stealth rock weak pokemon like Salamence, Dragonite, Volcarona, Tornadus-T, and Thundrus-T won't enjoy facing Throh.
    - Needs to boost to be any sort of offensive threat, so beware of enemy phazers.
    - Thanks to Guts, Throh can't be stopped by status, but he doesn't appreciate the residual damage.

[SET]
    name: Bulk Up
    move 1: Bulk Up
    move 2: Circle Throw
    move 3: Payback/ThunderPunch
    move 4: Ice Punch
    item: Leftovers
    ability: Guts
    nature: Careful
    evs: 252 HP / 4 Atk / 252 SpD

[SET COMMENTS]

- After a couple of Bulk Ups, Throh becomes very hard to take down, and hits hard too.
    - Try to bring this in on something that can't do much damage to Throh so you can more easily set up.
    - Enemies who try to set up will be phazed and damaged.