Troubles Running Shoddy Battle? READ Before Asking

Discussion in 'Shoddy Battle and Pokémon Lab' started by bearzly, Jul 8, 2009.

  1. Crimsonhaze14

    Crimsonhaze14

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    ok. i have the latest java installed, cache cleared, etc. but when i try to open shoddy, it comes up with java's installer message. it installs something then i get this message:

    Windows ® Installer. V 4.5.6002.18005

    msiexec /Option <Required Parameter> [Optional Parameter]

    Install Options
    </package | /i> <Product.msi>
    Installs or configures a product
    /a <Product.msi>
    Administrative install - Installs a product on the network
    /j<u|m> <Product.msi> [/t <Transform List>] [/g <Language ID>]
    Advertises a product - m to all users, u to current user
    </uninstall | /x> <Product.msi | ProductCode>
    Uninstalls the product
    Display Options
    /quiet
    Quiet mode, no user interaction
    /passive
    Unattended mode - progress bar only
    /q[n|b|r|f]
    Sets user interface level
    n - No UI
    b - Basic UI
    r - Reduced UI
    f - Full UI (default)
    /help
    Help information
    Restart Options
    /norestart
    Do not restart after the installation is complete
    /promptrestart
    Prompts the user for restart if necessary
    /forcerestart
    Always restart the computer after installation
    Logging Options
    /l[i|w|e|a|r|u|c|m|o|p|v|x|+|!|*] <LogFile>
    i - Status messages
    w - Nonfatal warnings
    e - All error messages
    a - Start up of actions
    r - Action-specific records
    u - User requests
    c - Initial UI parameters
    m - Out-of-memory or fatal exit information
    o - Out-of-disk-space messages
    p - Terminal properties
    v - Verbose output
    x - Extra debugging information
    + - Append to existing log file
    ! - Flush each line to the log
    * - Log all information, except for v and x options
    /log <LogFile>
    Equivalent of /l* <LogFile>
    Update Options
    /update <Update1.msp>[;Update2.msp]
    Applies update(s)
    /uninstall <PatchCodeGuid>[;Update2.msp] /package <Product.msi | ProductCode>
    Remove update(s) for a product
    Repair Options
    /f[p|e|c|m|s|o|d|a|u|v] <Product.msi | ProductCode>
    Repairs a product
    p - only if file is missing
    o - if file is missing or an older version is installed (default)
    e - if file is missing or an equal or older version is installed
    d - if file is missing or a different version is installed
    c - if file is missing or checksum does not match the calculated value
    a - forces all files to be reinstalled
    u - all required user-specific registry entries (default)
    m - all required computer-specific registry entries (default)
    s - all existing shortcuts (default)
    v - runs from source and recaches local package
    Setting Public Properties
    [PROPERTY=PropertyValue]

    Consult the Windows ® Installer SDK for additional documentation on the
    command line syntax.

    Copyright © Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.
    Portions of this software are based in part on the work of the Independent JPEG Group.

    is something wrong with windows (i use Vista) or java/shoddy? once it also said that the uncompression of shoddy failed... somebody help
  2. Makn

    Makn

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    It worked!!

    Thank you for the help so much.

    Sorry i didn't come to this topic in the first place.
  3. m0r0nz-inc

    m0r0nz-inc

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Shoddy has always worked for me, but recently it been a bit dodgy, but only on the Smogon server.
    Not only do my old accounts work some of the time ("password is incorrect", when I'm 100% sure it's right), but when it does log on, it just freezes before the server itself comes up, leaving only the login box.

    Can someone give me some things to try?
    thanks
  4. cardiff9

    cardiff9

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    When I tried to connect to the Smogon server, it always tells me that my password is incorrect, when it is correct. How do I fix this?
  5. dragez

    dragez

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    i have a huge problem

    ok i have a prob in its been happening for about 2 months now i cant access my shoddy it says 0/500 0/250 for all the rooms. In its just for this computer my dads at his house works fine and others please help i need my shoddy i cant live without it lol but seriously if its a java problem what is it i have it running is there away to restore my settings please help i looked at the advice before and got lost thanks
  6. The Plant

    The Plant

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2006
    Messages:
    730
    Thanks to this thread I got shoddy to open.
  7. Kyukon Kitsune

    Kyukon Kitsune

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Okay, I can open Shoddy Battle, and servers appear. But they are all empty. When I try to join one, it says: "Connection refused: connection"

    I have downloaded the latest version of Java, so what's going on?
  8. Kyukon Kitsune

    Kyukon Kitsune

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    I also cannot create a shorcut (if that has to do w/ anything)
  9. Kyukon Kitsune

    Kyukon Kitsune

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    8

    Crap.
  10. Felix91

    Felix91

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    391
    I'm on a mac, changing the Java settings to fix the stretch issue... It didn't work on SE 6, so I switched to 1.4.2 and I got this message when launching Shoddy:


    Error:java.lang.NoClassDefFoundError: java/security/CodeSigner

    Code:
    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
    <jnlp
        spec="1.0+"
        codebase="http://shoddybattle.com/client/"
        href="shoddybattle.jnlp">
        <information>
            <title>Shoddy Battle</title>
            <vendor>Colin Fitzpatrick &amp; Benjamin Gwin</vendor>
            <homepage href="http://shoddybattle.com" />
            <description kind="short">An extensible Pokemon simulator</description>
            <description>A pokemon simulator that is free as in freedom</description>
            <shortcut online="true">
                <desktop />
                <menu />
            </shortcut>
            <icon href="http://shoddybattle.com/client/icon.gif" width="64" height="64" />
        </information>
        <resources>
            <j2se version="1.4+" />
            <j2se version="1.5+" />
            <j2se version="1.6+" />
            <jar href="ShoddyBattleClient.jar" />
            <jar href="ShoddyBattle.jar" />
            <jar href="PokemonSprites.jar" />
            <jar href="swing-layout-1.0.2.jar" />
        </resources>
        <resources os="Windows" arch="x86">
            <nativelib href="ShoddyHelper.jar" />
        </resources>
        <security>
             <all-permissions />
        </security>
        <application-desc main-class="shoddybattleclient.WelcomeWindow">
        <argument>sprites.PokemonSprite</argument>
        <argument>http://shoddybattle.com/client/dpmovesets.db</argument>
        </application-desc>
    </jnlp>
  11. bearzly

    bearzly Shoddy Battle dev
    is a Battle Server Admin Alumnusis a Programmer Alumnusis a Forum Moderator Alumnus

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2009
    Messages:
    230
    Make sure that you have the latest java updates from software update. And what exactly didn't work in 1.6?
  12. pkmn-taicho321

    pkmn-taicho321

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,541
    alright I'm trying and trying to login to smogon U's server, but for some reason I just can't. I don't get any messages. I haven't been banned as far as I know. It just ignores that I've pressed the login button/pressed enter. Smogon U is the only server giving me this issue! please I would really like to get on to the server!
  13. Felix91

    Felix91

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    391
    I got an error saying "Cannot launch the program" or something like that...

    BUT I went to the site and clicked download again and it immediately opened... Then after I closed it wouldn't open from the desktop. I'm not sure what that means...
  14. bearzly

    bearzly Shoddy Battle dev
    is a Battle Server Admin Alumnusis a Programmer Alumnusis a Forum Moderator Alumnus

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2009
    Messages:
    230
    Java updates usually come through Software Update on os x
  15. Hyphy

    Hyphy

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    499
    I have the same problem that Felix91 is having, however shoddybattle won't even open for me when I redownload it from the site. Can someone give me some insight?
  16. Escro

    Escro

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Shoddy runs fine, I can construct teams easily, but the servers all appear empty, and when I try and connect to one, it crashes.

    The main window appears like this:

    [​IMG]

    I know this can't be right. Can someone give me some help?
  17. Shortkirby

    Shortkirby

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    when I download it it says what file should I open with but I don't know what to open it with
  18. Radio Reevesy

    Radio Reevesy

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Escro: have you tried turning your firewall off? I had exactly the same problem as you, until I turned mine off.

    My problem is which programs and things should I allow to use Shoddy? I don't really want my firewall off for long periods of time. I'm currently allowing java, and when I do all the servers are empty and I can't connect. Shoddy only works with the firewall off. Any ideas?

    Also I have the same problem as ekul and m0r0nz-inc about my password being rejected when I'm sure I entered it correctly. Is there a way to get my password changed?
  19. supremecommodore

    supremecommodore

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2

    WrongLane, I had the same problem when I transferred my files from my old Mac. For some reason, Shoddy and or Java is pointed back to your old "home" folder from the previous account, which I presume had a different name. Solution: in the Users folder, create a new folder that exactly matches the home folder of your user account on your previous Mac. That should do it. If not, try copying the hidden folder ".shoddybattle" to the newly created folder. Good luck.
  20. RayePenbur

    RayePenbur

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    24
  21. VKCA

    VKCA (Virtual Circus Kareoky Act)

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    3,638
    What is the general tab? I don't really know where my java preferences is. My shoddy has always worked fine, and then the above problem showed up.
  22. owned645

    owned645

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    I am having the same exact problem. someone please help

  23. banngr

    banngr

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    66
    I've worked out how to fix the java error that stops shoddy from installing.

    Go to Control Panel.
    Open Java.
    Open Network Settings.
    Select 'Direct Connection'.

    Try running the .jnlp file...it should (hopefully) work!
  24. purple crobatchop

    purple crobatchop

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    163
    Problem loading Smogon server

    1. Ok, I started off nicely with the normal menu (and I can edit teams in the other tab).
    2. Then I noticed:
    3. Now when I tried to connect, it lagged for a few seconds and message like this came up:
    And obviously I cannot get to the login page. Now what?
    [​IMG]
  25. Chileno4Live

    Chileno4Live

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Messages:
    374
    I have the same thing as the guy above me. How can we fix this? Or is the server down?

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)