1. Welcome to Smogon Forums! Please take a minute to read the rules.
  2. New to the forums? Check out our Mentorship Program!
    Our mentors will answer your questions and help you become a part of the community!

Troubles Running Shoddy Battle? READ Before Asking

Discussion in 'Shoddy Battle and Pokémon Lab' started by bearzly, Jul 8, 2009.

  1. Duck92

    Duck92

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Messages:
    427
    @BunnyMaster - This happens when your connection to the host times out. Aka, when you lose connection to the database, you cannot login, or register. To fix this you need to login right away, you can't wait a few minutes/
  2. Redwar

    Redwar

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Having trouble opening the download. I have downloaded it, tried it in chrome, IE and FF, uninstalled and reinstalled java - all without success.

    I get the "java.net.MalformedURLException: unknown protocol: socket" failure twice before it tells me it wont open. so all i have is the initial download... am i missing something obvious? hunted around on google and on here a bit and got nowhere.

    Thanks in advance

    Nick
  3. Duck92

    Duck92

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Messages:
    427
    @Redwar - By chance are you using a Proxy and maybe Windows XP?

    1) Control Panel --> Java
    2) Select Network Settings Button
    3) Select Direct Connection, and press OK a few times to exit

    This is because Java is thinking you are using a proxy and tries to connect to it, since there is no proxy, it returns an error.
  4. Redwar

    Redwar

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Was in vista (sorry, should have thought to say) but the advice still held... thanks a lot. I had no idea I was running a proxy, or even how to, so thanks for the advice. Since I am the only user of this laptop (aside from, occasionally, the other half who is even less tech proficient than me) I wonder how it happened... but that's for me to wonder - thanks a lot!!!

    Now to start learning about competitive battling - nothing like being schooled by 10 year old's when you are 28...
  5. BunnyMaster

    BunnyMaster

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    160
    @duck92 - I login as quickly as humanly possible. No matter how fast I enter it or how many times I try, the same thing happens.
  6. The Hitman

    The Hitman

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    168
    anybody? I don't know much about computers, so I certainly I did not try "everything"
  7. Glaive

    Glaive

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    No matter what I try, I'm still getting the stretch issue with my macbook pro. I've tried everything suggested in this thread. No dice.
  8. narutimalte

    narutimalte

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    I test this solution and ... He run !!

    I've vista ^^

    thank you very much
  9. Duck92

    Duck92

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Messages:
    427
    @Glaive - You might have an older Macbook Pro, and it may not support 64-Bit java.
  10. Darx

    Darx

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    I am having some trouble with shoddy battle. I seem to be able to run it, but the interface is poor in quality. For example, the text is somewhat multicolored and hard to read, drop down tabs don't line up well so I can't read the items under it, I can't use my mouse to click where I need to. Pushing the tab button lets me shuffle around, but selecting moves is impossible. Is there anyway to clear this up?
  11. amplafied

    amplafied

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    uh, I've been looking around for ages but nothing has helped.

    Recently I've moved house and shoddy just load servers ( all with 0/500 or so, giving me the connection timed out message.

    I try to ping shoddy battle . com but it didn't work at all, and the window just closed after a few failed attempts.

    I've completely disabled all firewalls and checked for trojans, but still nothing. Somebody mentioned about unblocking specific ports? I'm on Windows 7 starter, will that make any difference.

    I've even been evil and tried pokemon online but even that won't load servers giving me a timed out message. Any ideas? How do you unblock the port that shoddy runs on?
  12. Darkamber8828

    Darkamber8828

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    2,938

    This, although I registered once.
  13. Motti

    Motti

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    The problem i've had is not that I can't load shoddy battle. It's the fact I can't log into the smogon university server. I can log into any other server but that one.
  14. Duck92

    Duck92

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Messages:
    427
    @amplafied - Ping will not help. You are pinging the ShoddyBattle website which doesn't host a server. Try advance connecting. Ports have nothing to do with this. Try advance connecting.
  15. laalipop

    laalipop

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    hi,

    I'm having a problem logging into the smogon server on shoddy. I registered a name and went to log in and it returns "incorrect password" even though its correct.

    I made a second account to see if maybe I did make it wrong and got the same thing.

    I registered and was able to log into another server just fine, but not smogon.
  16. Nomad

    Nomad

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Messages:
    81
    Shoddy's recently stopped working for me so I hope someone can help me!

    Shoddy starts up correctly, the main window appears and I can connect to any working server. However, once I am connected and am at the log in screen it 'freezes', my account connects to the server however the log in window is still displayed and is frozen!

    I've cleaned out my java temporary files and reinstalled the newest version (twice!) as well as removing any older versions of Java. I've scanned for virus's using AVG as well as checking to make sure I don't have this trojan but it still doesn't work!

    The only other thing I can think of that might have affected it is; that I changed the cookies settings on Firefox / IE, they have both been changed back to see if that fixes it but it hasn't.

    Help would be very appreciated. I'm running Windows 7 Home premium 32 bit.

    Edit: Still not fixed!
  17. metamega

    metamega

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Messages:
    22
    when i first downloaded it, windows wouldnt open it as it said the file type was unknown, i downloaded java and a file type windows recommended, and it still did the same, i selected to open it using internet explorer and all i got was the codes for shoddy battle, this is when i downloaded java, but now when i try to open it, a file download box appears and gives me the options to open, save or cancel, however whichever option i choose, nothing happens, what do i need to do?
  18. Duck92

    Duck92

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Messages:
    427
    @metamega - Once your save it, go to Downloads, and right click. Click the change button, where you can select Java. You should then be working.

    @Nomad - You'll need to redownload .jnlp File. I think part of the file has been erased. Post again if it proceeds
  19. Gideon

    Gideon

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    Messages:
    298
    whenever i try to download shoddy i say yes to making changes to the computer and this appears.

    Windows ® Installer. V 5.0.7600.16385

    msiexec /Option <Required Parameter> [Optional Parameter]

    Install Options
    </package | /i> <Product.msi>
    Installs or configures a product
    /a <Product.msi>
    Administrative install - Installs a product on the network
    /j<u|m> <Product.msi> [/t <Transform List>] [/g <Language ID>]
    Advertises a product - m to all users, u to current user
    </uninstall | /x> <Product.msi | ProductCode>
    Uninstalls the product
    Display Options
    /quiet
    Quiet mode, no user interaction
    /passive
    Unattended mode - progress bar only
    /q[n|b|r|f]
    Sets user interface level
    n - No UI
    b - Basic UI
    r - Reduced UI
    f - Full UI (default)
    /help
    Help information
    Restart Options
    /norestart
    Do not restart after the installation is complete
    /promptrestart
    Prompts the user for restart if necessary
    /forcerestart
    Always restart the computer after installation
    Logging Options
    /l[i|w|e|a|r|u|c|m|o|p|v|x|+|!|*] <LogFile>
    i - Status messages
    w - Nonfatal warnings
    e - All error messages
    a - Start up of actions
    r - Action-specific records
    u - User requests
    c - Initial UI parameters
    m - Out-of-memory or fatal exit information
    o - Out-of-disk-space messages
    p - Terminal properties
    v - Verbose output
    x - Extra debugging information
    + - Append to existing log file
    ! - Flush each line to the log
    * - Log all information, except for v and x options
    /log <LogFile>
    Equivalent of /l* <LogFile>
    Update Options
    /update <Update1.msp>[;Update2.msp]
    Applies update(s)
    /uninstall <PatchCodeGuid>[;Update2.msp] /package <Product.msi | ProductCode>
    Remove update(s) for a product
    Repair Options
    /f[p|e|c|m|s|o|d|a|u|v] <Product.msi | ProductCode>
    Repairs a product
    p - only if file is missing
    o - if file is missing or an older version is installed (default)
    e - if file is missing or an equal or older version is installed
    d - if file is missing or a different version is installed
    c - if file is missing or checksum does not match the calculated value
    a - forces all files to be reinstalled
    u - all required user-specific registry entries (default)
    m - all required computer-specific registry entries (default)
    s - all existing shortcuts (default)
    v - runs from source and recaches local package
    Setting Public Properties
    [PROPERTY=PropertyValue]

    Consult the Windows ® Installer SDK for additional documentation on the
    command line syntax.

    Copyright © Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.
    Portions of this software are based in part on the work of the Independent JPEG Group.
  20. Ramhere

    Ramhere

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    9

    I'm having the exact same problem as Nomad here, and I believe one or two ppl have mentioned it above too!

    @Duck92 - which .jnlp do you mean? The shoddy file or the java download?
  21. Tristen

    Tristen

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Ive downloaded Shoddy today and everything seemed to be working fine, but when I got into a battle I cannot select any moves, change pokemon, the options arnt even there.... Is there anyway to fix this?
  22. Duck92

    Duck92

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Messages:
    427
    @Ramhere - ShoddyBattle
    @Tristen - Read the topic,
    Help! I have a mac/use OS X and when I start a battle the battle window stretches and I can't see my moves! What should I do!?!

    This is a bug with Java 1.5 for OS X. Open your java preferences and in the Java Applications list in the General tab, make sure that Java 1.5 is not at the top of the list. Java 1.6 is the best choice, but 1.4 also works if you don't have 1.6.
    [​IMG]
  23. kkeith

    kkeith

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    I was trying to get on shoddy battle when it said unable to launch app with this exception:

    CouldNotLoadArgumentException[ Could Not Load File/URL specified: C:/Documents And Settings/Administrator/Application Data/Sun/Java/Deployment/Cache/6.0/44/5b8a586c-7b283137]

    I have XP, I have no trojan, I've got the latest Java, and I cant get on the shoddy battle site...

    Please Help
  24. Duck92

    Duck92

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Messages:
    427
    @kkeith - Clear your java cache, and make sure you are connected to the internet.
  25. kkeith

    kkeith

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    I did this but it now says it can't uninstall applications...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)