1. New to the forums? Check out our Mentorship Program!
    Our mentors will answer your questions and help you become a part of the community!
  2. Welcome to Smogon Forums! Please take a minute to read the rules.

What is a computer.

Discussion in 'Smogon's Greatest Hits' started by Vineon, May 17, 2006.

1. Vineon

Vineon Fleurdelysé
    is a Battle Server Admin Alumnusis a Smogon IRC SOp Alumnusis a Contributor Alumnusis an Administrator Alumnus

I have been using a computer for the past 6 years and I pathetically still know nothing about them :(.

I plan to soon buy a newer one as this one is getting old but I know so little about them that I woudnt know where to look and what to ask for :(. I had a friend help me last time, but I dont see him anymore.

Roughly, this is my complete knowledge of a computer.

[​IMG]

so what are the basics I should know about when comes time to buy a computer? I cannot obviously go to the store with only what I know, I'll sound like a total cretin :(.

:[
  2. RicepigeonKKM

RicepigeonKKM Wait, who?
    is a Forum Moderator Alumnusis a Contributor Alumnus

in a nutshell, 10
  3. stonerchris

stonerchris
    is a Battle Server Moderator Alumnus

lol, yeah my computer knowledge is about as extensive as yours. uh just dont ask the guy at the store, thats what i did. they'll direct you to something overpriced and relatively useless. mine can't even burn cds :(
  4. Jack Sparrow

Jack Sparrow
    is a Forum Moderator Alumnusis a Researcher Alumnus

I wouldn't buy from a store, I would buy online or build it yourself.

Building a computer yourself really isn't that difficult. I should probably post a guide on that one of these days.

Okay Vineon, about what are you looking for this computer to do?
  5. Kongler

Kongler
    is a Smogon IRC AOp Alumnusis a Super Moderator Alumnusis a Contributor Alumnusis a Battle Server Moderator Alumnus