1. Welcome to Smogon Forums! Please take a minute to read the rules.
  2. New to the forums? Check out our Mentorship Program!
    Our mentors will answer your questions and help you become a part of the community!

Will 4th Gen Wi-Fi die when 5th Gen comes around?

Discussion in 'Stark Mountain' started by NixHex, Jul 26, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. NixHex

NixHex A new vice president erryday to keep me busy
    is a member of the Site Staffis a Forum Moderatoris a Pokemon Researcheris a Contributor to Smogonis a Battle Server Moderator Alumnus

Hi all.

Being fairly new to the metagame (though I've been playing Pokémon for 12 years), I am worried that all my hard work for building Wi-Fi teams will go to waste. I waited so long for an "easy" solution to IV/Nature/Hidden Power breeding, which was what held me back from even trying competitive Wi-Fi. When RNG abuse became easier and easier, I now had the ability to get tons of viable Pokémon I would never have been able to get, but it's been tough to find the time to EV train all of my new captures. Having gotten into shoddy within the past year, I became distracted, basically having a bunch of cool untrained Pokémon, and have just in the past few weeks FINALLY built an actual team.

However, it will be very exciting for me to see a metagame evolve from its roots, instead of how I entered the current metagame rather late. I completely missed out on the days of Garchomp's broken OU status, Deoxys-e's short life in OU, glass cannons like Porygon-z and Rampardos actually seeing use, lack of Bullet Punch Scizor, and so on. Hopefully I can get a grasp of this new metagame from the get-go and be able to contribute to Smogon in something besides my niche in FR/LG RNG abuse.

Here are some points I'd like to discuss, the most obvious being the title of the post.

1. Will Competitive Generation 4 Wi-Fi die out quickly?
    2. Will Competitive Generation 4 Shoddy die out quickly?