OU DPP OU Players Interviews [last output: #5: August]

SFG

Snom is Fucking Great
is a Forum Moderatoris a Community Contributor
DPP OU Player Interview:

#1: Excal

Hey Excal, and thank you for giving us your time! First of all, could you quickly present yourself for people who don’t know you ?

Hi! I'm an old gens player who specializes in DPP, having recently played DPP for the Classiest in SPL.

You are one of the new DPP OU stars, but can you explain how and why did you choose this tier?

Haha thanks, so contrary to my 2018 join date on Smogon I started playing "competitive" Pokemon as a wifi battler in 2009 when DPP was the main gen. Shortly after BW came out, I didn't enjoy it as much as DPP so that was partly what contributed to leaving the game for a few years. Fast forward to 2017, there was an actual DPP ladder and I randomly decided to go on showdown again after a very brief stint in XY laddering in 2014. I ended up getting hooked for the first time in 7 years and laddered DPP a ton for a good year and a half or so. Basically I got stuck with DPP because it's what I started out playing when I was super young. Nostalgia's a powerful feeling!

As a zoomer who started with SM, I can't really pretend that I know this feeling haha, but I understand! You recently participated to your first SPL, can you talk about it? If you were stressed, the atmosphere of the team, what did you learn, or some anecdotes!