Announcement [Gen 3] Challenge Cup: Randbats Monthly Spotlight Ladder 1

What would you like to see as the first Random Battles Monthly Spotlight Ladder?

  • [Gen 8] Random Battle (No Dynamax)

    Votes: 127 37.7%
  • [Gen 3] Challenge Cup 6v6

    Votes: 149 44.2%
  • [Gen 7] Random Doubles Battle

    Votes: 78 23.1%
  • [Gen 8] Doubles Hackmons Cup

    Votes: 79 23.4%

  • Total voters
    337
  • Poll closed .

A Cake Wearing A Hat

moist and crusty
is a Forum Moderatoris a Community Contributoris a Top Contributoris a Smogon Media Contributoris a Battle Simulator Moderatoris a Site Content Manager Alumnusis a Top Social Media Contributor Alumnus
Moderator
Hello, and welcome to a new project and event hosted by the Random Battles room and the site at large!

Monthly Spotlight Ladder!

The Monthly Spotlight Ladder's purpose is simple: to give formats that would not otherwise have one a chance to be played on a wider scale. Each month, four options will be given, and the winner after a week of voting will have its own ladder for a month!

YOU MAY VOTE FOR MULTIPLE FORMATS!

Each month, in addition to the Spotlight ladder, the Random Battles room will host three official room tournaments in the Spotlight format. The winners of each of these tournaments, at the end of the month, will fight each other for the grand prize; the ultimate winner will get to pick an option on the next month's poll and obtain Room Prize Winner (^) rank for a month.

Rules and additional details:
- You're welcome to compete in all 3 Spotlight tournaments per month, but winning more than one will not confer any special benefits; runners-up will be awarded slots in the end-of-month showdown.
- If you do not show up to the last week, your spot in the finals will be given to the next available runner-up. Please stay around so we can contact you with details!
- When selecting a format to vote on as the winner, you will have a wide array of options, from modded variants of ladders that already exist, to formats that are challenge-only, to formats that don't exist at all! However, these are subject to coding limitations, and formats that have recently been a monthly spotlight cannot be voted on again for several months.
- This thread is open for discussion. Stay cordial, follow all site rules.
- Only votes in the poll above will count. Please do not type your vote out in a reply.

Tournament Schedule:

Sunday, September 4th, at Midnight GMT (AKA Saturday, September 3rd, at 8:00 PM EST/5:00 PM PST for you Americans)
Sunday, September 11th, at 8:00 AM GMT (4AM EST/1AM PST)
Sunday, September 18th, at 4:00 PM GMT (12PM EST/9AM PST)

Finals will occur in the window of the 19th-30th, depending on player availability.
 
Last edited:
i dont get what removing dynamax adds to gen 8 randbats where dynamax is actually.. a positive mechanic to balance out randing a less wanted team and having opportunity to set up with skill / wallbreak where you would autolose otherwise. I implore voters to try to think about whether their randbats experience will actually be better without dynamax( there's like a good reason it was left in rather than left out - and the ladder still is heavily populated)
I may be wrong - I primarily only grind gen 3 randbats - but thats my impression on how dynamax affects gen 8 randbats
 

A Cake Wearing A Hat

moist and crusty
is a Forum Moderatoris a Community Contributoris a Top Contributoris a Smogon Media Contributoris a Battle Simulator Moderatoris a Site Content Manager Alumnusis a Top Social Media Contributor Alumnus
Moderator
And the winner is...

Gen 3 Challenge Cup!


We'll work hard to making that format ready for the Spotlight ladder as soon as possible. Stay tuned!

Edit: The ladder is up! Be sure to play plenty of it to prepare for the official tournaments!

This thread will remain open for discussion of the format; just remember, be civil!
 
Last edited:
And the winner is...

Gen 3 Challenge Cup!


We'll work hard to making that format ready for the Spotlight ladder as soon as possible. Stay tuned!

Edit: The ladder is up! Be sure to play plenty of it to prepare for the official tournaments!

This thread will remain open for discussion of the format; just remember, be civil!
Are there any sources on the forum to get a sense of what Challenge Cup looks like?
 

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 1, Guests: 0)

Top