Let's Play! GEN2 In-Game team for a Gold run

Hi everyone! I would like to introduce you a discussion about which should be a great team for a GSC in-game run; as you tiered in past pokemon in an in-game tier list* (which i studied before asking this thread), i would like to ask you which team would you prepare for an in-game run.

*: here's the link:
http://www.smogon.com/forums/threads/gsc-in-game-tier-list.3525167/

Considerations:
- Trade is assumed (yes)
- Even if the walkthrough usually complains just 3 pokemon i would like a team wich grows up during the stoyline so that you have up to 4/5 pokemon facing elite 4 and then up to 6 when ready to battle Red
- Team should be studied competitive but it would be apreciated if pokemon learn HMs (or at least the most useful ones)
- The starter, even if not mandatory, is highly recommended. I would like to see an opinion for each starter's team (this means don't choose ALWAYS Typhlosion, ahah)
- Very apreciated will be possible substitutes in your team (es: Alakazam/Kadabra - Espeon; Ampharos - Electabuzz; ...)

I will test the one which i like most. I hope you're gonna enjoy this discussion because i love 2nd gen and i bought an old Gold version yesterday!!!

In the end, a description about the team, or a pokemon-per-pokemon one, will be VERY apreciated. Please consider that pokemon are tiered by:

- Aviability
- Movepool
- Stats
- Movepool
- Major Battles (gym leaders, elite 4,...)

So, which one you choose: Cindaquil, Totodile, Chikorita or... :)

I speedrun Gold/Silver/Crystal a lot for fun and I have some experience gathered for runs.

Some pictures for proof:

If you allow Trades OP and want to test out a very quick run:Make your starter

Chikorita
[HM: Cut/Flash/Strength] -> HM Slave and useful

Catch a Geodude
[HM: Strength] -> He deals with the four first Gyms easily and only the Fighting/Ice/Dragon give him trouble

Buy an Abra in Goldenrod City

[HM: Flash] -> GOD, "S+" Rank worthy