SS PU [PEAKED #5] KENGAN ASHURA

1590074026720.png

For the past few weeks, I've been focusing on learning the in's and out's of PU in preparation for the upcoming PUPL and Snake Draft. It's been a good learning experience and I've met a bunch of cool people, in fact everyone I've interacted in the PU community is amazing - if only other communities were as welcoming and supportive.

OVERALL TEAM RECORD across both alts 37-5

Onto the team...

I used stall on a few alts to get a feel of the metagame but after getting crushed by czim and tlenit1 millions of times, I went on their advice and embarked on making my own offensive team. Since DPP OU, the playstyle that best flowed with me was Hyper Offense and I decided to try it again this time. I am still learning so any advice from PU beasts will be appreciated!

1590074179399.png

BLAST CORE (Onix) @ Lum Berry
Ability: Sturdy
EVs: 4 HP / 252 Atk / 252 Spe
Jolly Nature
- Stealth Rock
- Explosion
- Body Press
- Taunt

This Pokemon is pretty darn fast. I know that Stonjuourner outclasses this, however I want an additional volt switch blocker and Sturdy is very useful. I usually lead with this in almost every game, Taunt the slower lead and set up. If I manage to live after getting rocks up, I then boom before they can spin off or just Body Press if they dont bring in their spinner. I use to use Normal Gem initially, however with scald burns happening and ruining my chances of getting rocks up, went for Lum Berry towards the end of my run. This Pokemon is not meant to really last past the initial stages of the game unless you're facing a full on stall team, in which case you can keep taunting and forcing switches and/or boom. Apparently if you explode, the opposing Pokemon cannot defog, never knew that till a few days ago. Eventually will learn all the new gen mechanics zzzz.

---------------

1590074429480.png

NIKO STYLE (Glaceon) @ Choice Specs
Ability: Snow Cloak
EVs: 4 Def / 252 SpA / 252 Spe
Modest Nature
IVs: 0 Atk