SM OU Pheromosa Breakin' Necks! [Z-Hyper Beam QD Phero BO] [Peaked 1618]

What do you think of Z-Hyper Beam Quiver Dance Phero?

• Total voters
INTRODUCTION

Hello! Thanks for checking out my 2nd RMT! I built around an unorthodox set in Z-Hyper Beam Quiver Dance Pheromosa. While a peak of 1618 isn't too impressive, I'm still fairly new to competitive, so its the best I could reach before I get tilted by bad luck lol. This is probably my favorite team I've made this gen, so let's check it out!

TEAMBUILDING PROCESS

I originally chose to build my team around this mon: Quiver Dance Phero with Z-Hyper Beam. I chose Ash Greninja as a good offensive partner, as they share and wear down a common switch-in being Tapu Fini.

I added bulky Heatran because I needed a rocker, and it also covers a weakness to Scizor.

I added Phys. Def Tangrowth to give myself a solid ground resist, as it counters all ground types barring Z-Fly Land and Z-Fire Fang SD Chomp (which is pretty rare as is). It also can force a mon that commonly switches in, like Charizard, to be sleep fodder because of sleep powder.

Next, I added AV Magearna. This mon allows me to switch in on things like Tapu Koko, Greninja, and most importantly, Tapu Lele. It can also gain momentum with Volt Switch.

Finally, I added Scarfchomp mainly as a revenge killer to +1 Volc, Mence, and Zard X. It works as an effective late game cleaner too.

After some testing, I decided that adding Offensive Rocks Lando over Tran and Scarf Terrak over Scarfchomp was overall a better idea. Lando gives me a better matchup vs. Stall because of SD + Soft Sand, and Terrak rkills all of the things scarfchomp does, and it does better vs. things like Celesteela and Ferrothorn, which are mons that Garchomp would struggle with. This is the final version of the team!

THE TEAM

Pheromosa @ Normalium Z
Ability: Beast Boost
Modest Nature
EVs: 224 Sp. Atk / 32 Sp. Def / 252 Spe
IVs: 0 Atk
-Quiver Dance
-Focus Blast
-Bug Buzz
-Hyper Beam