Gen 1 Starmie + Cloyster + Jolteon, feedback welcome!

Hi all,

I have been playing Gen 1 on and off since 2018. Recently I moved countries and have lots of free time on my hands and so am seeking to take improvement seriously. I am seeking feedback on my ladder team, which I have played for the last two weeks (263 wins, 181 losses).

General Strategy
The goal of the team is to outlast others (hence lots of Rest and instant recovery), wear them down and then finish them off with Tauros and/or Jolteon. Its working well enough but there are specific move choices I would love input on (in addition to any other feedback of course). The team does well against more aggressive builds (for example, teams with Persian) and teams with the legendary birds. With a Starmie opener, there can be some disadvantage which facing specific opposing Leads and Exeggutor in particular is a huge hurdle for the team.

The Team

Starmie

- Surf
- Thunderbolt
- Thunder Wave
- Recover

Played in the Lead role. Surf for solid damage versus Gengar, Jynx, Alakazam and Normals. Thunderbolt for other Starmie. The issue with this set is it is walled by Exeggutor which, as you will see, is presently a problem mon for this team. I previously played Psychic plus Thunderbolt, which hits Gengar harder (including a chance for a turn 1 crit kill) but makes you worse versus Alakazam and still does not help with Exeggutor. I have been most comfortable with Surf after testing as its solid damage in the mid to late game when everything is worn down somewhat. Still, this is the mon I am most interested in feedback on - a good start to a battle makes a difference!

Cloyster

- Blizzard
- Clamp
- Rest
- Explosion