Hitmontop @ Leftovers
Ability: Intimidate
EVs: 252 HP / 252 Atk / 4 SpD
Adamant Nature
- Fake Out
- Sucker Punch
- Close Combat
- Protect

Help me out. I am fairly new to this generation's doubles and am open to any suggestions, critiques, or advice. Thanks!

shaian

you love to see it
is a Tutor Alumnusis a Team Rater Alumnusis a Social Media Contributor Alumnusis a Tiering Contributor Alumnusis a Contributor Alumnus
Sup fren, nice to have another cart battler here. Just throwing this out there, VGC Battle Spot and Smog Doubles are two very different metagames (outside of the double battle aspect), VGC / Battlespot is done at level 50 and Smog is at 100, which impacts how the EV spreads work, as well as the threat list. You said in your title its for VGC / Battlespot (which are also quite different), but the tag is for ORAS Doubles. No one can really give in-depth advice until they know which format it's for.

As for the team, I can only give the most basic suggestions, since again I'm not sure what format it's for. Also RMTs are supposed to have at least 3 lines of description per mon. I'd also recommend you to B101 for doubles to get better at the tier.
Umbreon: I love Umbreon, but it's not suited for doubles play. Doubles is a meta that is far more fast paced, and the role of stall is translated into support, either through redirection, speed control, the occasional cleric, or Helping Hand. The best I can give you is that if you want to use Umbreon, a set of Foul Play, Helping Hand, Heal Bell / Taunt, and Protect would be the way to go. I would advice you to go with more offensive oriented Dark types though, like Tyranitar, Bisharp, Weavile and Hydreigon would be your best options for Battlespot / VGC legal options, and you could throw Darkrai in there for Smog Dubs.