What are your thoughts on the Pokemon fanbase?

How good or bad is the Pokemon fanbase most of the time?

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .
I don't know man, I've just seen a few people having some pretty mixed opinions on whether this game's fanbase is good or bad. Like, I know this isn't one of those really cringy fanbases like Undertale or Fortnite, but when I'm the kind of person who makes fun of said really cringy fanbases, I just really don't wanna risk ending up also being part of a horrible fanbase myself.

Maybe you guys can explain exactly what makes this fanbase good or bad. You don't have to bring up the anime fandom or Verlis though, because the anime's fandom is probably separate from the games, and Verlis is pretty much hated by everyone and doesn't really represent the rest of us.

Pikachu315111

Ranting & Raving!
is a Community Contributoris a Top Smogon Media Contributor
I'm no expert on this, but if you'll let me put on my philosophy glasses for a moment I'd like to share a pattern concerning newer fanbases in at least comparison to Pokemon's fanbase.

This started around when the new My Little Pony show was at its peak. I didn't even realize they had made a new My Little Pony show, mostly because I didn't care as until then my only knowledge of the franchise was they were pony dolls for little girls, when suddenly memes from the show were EVERYWHERE. Not only that, I learned many fans of the show were older males (the bronies), and they were the ones mostly pushing MLP:FIM references everywhere that it then started getting backlash.