What Pokemon means... an introduction. (TL:DR warning)

I HOPE THIS IS THE APPROPRIATE PLACE TO POST SUCH A THING. Sorry if it's not
(TL;DR This is just me expressing a long winded greeting to the community. No questions here, just a hearty hello)
Let this thread be a spot to share any fond memories regarding Pokmeon :)

I know, heavy subject subject title xD lol. What the hell does this unknown noob even mean?

I just joined Smogon as a registered user. I've never been involved in any in-depth, competitive functions via Smogon's Pokemon battling format or any sort of forum discussion relating to Pokemon until just days ago.
I've always been aware of Smogon, and always, somehow, kept Pokemon close to my heart.

It could be said of me that I am an underachiever, so with that in mind, I hope that whoever happens to read this takes that small, somewhat anecdotal fact about me with some small amount of consideration.

I just started playing the Pokemon games again recently. I am 28 years old. born 1990. I loved Pokemon and the anime. Pokemon was the first story and art medium that made me cry when I was 8 years old; the episode where ash almost gave Pikachu away. I remember pleading inside my heart to not let that happen fearing that somehow this could be the last episode... watching an animation of a fantasized character losing a realistically impossible creature tore my heart open wide.
It made me happy to see that would not turn out to be the case and the journey and experience of Pokemon would not end that day.

Some years later I would own a Gameboy Advanced SP and a copy of both Fire Red and Leaf Green.
Owning those games I felt enraptured. I loved every single second playing those games.