Discussion: WHY is your favorite Pokémon game(s) your favorite?

Status
Not open for further replies.

bdt2002

Pokémon Ranger: Guardian Signs superfan
is a Pre-Contributor
How's it going, everyone? This is my first time being on the forums in a while, although I will admit to lurking around the occasional discussion posts and just not saying anything. On the topic of discussions, I've been thinking more and more about a specific question lately that could definitely lead to some fun interactions. So, without further ado.

I'm sure we've all heard the basic, most generic questions Pokémon fans ask each other from time to time. "What are some of your favorite Pokémon?" "What's your favorite region?" "What's your favorite Pokémon type(s)?" Questions like those. Those are fine and all, but rarely do we see the reasons behind some of these decisions. That isn't to say people aren't happy to share their stories, but as a very psychological person by nature, the topic of "why" has continued to peak my interest more than the topic of "what".

I then thought to myself, what's the one thing Pokémon fans seem the most divisive on these days? This fandom is truly fascinating to me, and I think that one of Pokémon's biggest strengths as a multimedia franchise is that there's very likely to be something for everyone as opposed to some franchises which seem entirely carried by the same one or two installments. Like seriously, I didn't even know The Elder Scrolls had other games than Skyrim until I was halfway through high school.

The question I now present to the rest of you quickly became clear after thinking about that. The vast majority of Pokémon fans have at least a decent idea of what games across the franchise they would consider their favorites. Main series, spinoffs, again, there's something for (almost, where's our Pokémon FPS game?) everyone. But why exactly do you enjoy these favorites as much as you do?