1. Remember to check the Simple Questions/Simple Answers , Suggestions , Bug Reports and Technical Support threads before posting. If you have something that warrants extended discussion then post a thread, but when in doubt, please use an already existing thread
  2. New to the forums? Check out our Mentorship Program!
    Our mentors will answer your questions and help you become a part of the community!
  3. Welcome to Smogon Forums! Please take a minute to read the rules.

Technical Support Mk. 2 (READ OP BEFORE POSTING!)

Discussion in 'Pokémon Showdown!' started by Antar, Jul 22, 2012.

  1. WaffleBro

    WaffleBro

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    I keep Getting this error that reads "You have been disconnected – possibly because the server was restarted." Although when I press reconnect it keeps giving the same error, so I hit cancel and I can build a team but it doesen't look like it saves or anything like that. So I check the chat and it says no one is in it not even me and I cant type or anything also I can "Select" a user name but after I put it in nothing happens and I dont need a password the box just disappears. And im not sure why if anyone could help me I would appreciate it. So maybe to summarize a little bit when i click choose name and I put a name in and click choose name the box closes, and nothing happens and I can't really do anything if someone could help me I would appreciate it Thank You.
  2. Cherub Agent

    Cherub Agent Yeah, well. The Dude abides
    is a Forum Moderatoris a Community Contributor Alumnusis a Smogon Media Contributor Alumnusis a Contributor Alumnus
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    Messages:
    3,039
    Windows 8
    Google Chrome
    Have no other browser installee
    14.07.13
    +CherubAgent

    Whenever i look for a battle on the ladder i like to go on another tab and do other stuff while it searches. Now however I see the PS! Icon disappear and get replaced with the white sheet of paper icon. I click on the ps tab and it freezes for a couple of seconds, then completely shuts down chrome, closing all tabs. Really really annoying, as I can only imagine that im automatically losing games when this happens.
  3. Psylink

    Psylink

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    Messages:
    256
    I've ran into a problem where when I go to log in, a box saying "You can't log in becuase you're banned or the server is configured incorrectly" appears. Have I been banned?
  4. TheRapture03

    TheRapture03

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    Messages:
    2

    yea, I've had the same problem the last 24 hrs.
  5. Pikachuun

    Pikachuun

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,258
    The server is currently undergoing DDoS attacks, hence its current performance.
  6. gogglepikachu

    gogglepikachu

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2013
    Messages:
    13
    I was wondering why I can get on showdown with my iPad but not my computer. How can I get on it with my computer? Can someone please help?
  7. Volty

    Volty

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012
    Messages:
    355
    1. Ubuntu
    2. Google Chrome
    3. Firefox
    4. Earlier today around 1pm
    5. Voltage
    6. Whenever I try to login It does nothing.. Basicly, I would click choose name. Next, I would type in my name (Voltage) Click ok, then it doesnt ask for a password or anything it just disapears! Ive tried every possible way to choose name on both servers and no results. The only think i could think of that might have caused this (Other then server issues, which its not as all of my firends could still log in) is earlier today I was messing with the code for my stylish showdown skin to add custom backgrounds and such. As far as i know i didnt mess with anything else and every other server loads fine.
  8. Hempesis

    Hempesis

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    1. Windows 7
    2. Google Chrome
    3. Tried it on IE, Firefox, and Opera. All the same thing.
    4. At least a month or two ago, it's been a while and I've been trying every other day.
    5. Hempesis
    6. I can't connect to the Smogon server at all. I can connect to the other ones but every time I try to connect to Smogon it says "Couldn't connect to server! [Retry] [Close]" I'm assuming it's something on my end that's causing it but I have no idea how to go about fixing it. I'm with Bell Aliant DSL in Newfoundland, Canada. I'm not sure if it's a problem with them because my friend who is with Rogers connects fine.
  9. Arcticblast

    Arcticblast I'm John Morgan of Morgan and Morgan
    is a Tiering Contributoris a Forum Moderator Alumnusis a Community Contributor Alumnusis a Battle Server Moderator Alumnusis a SPL Winner
    Mentor

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    Messages:
    5,349
    Refresh repeatedly. It might take a couple tries, but it works quite well.
  10. Volty

    Volty

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012
    Messages:
    355
    Alright i'll give it a try thanks for the help man.
  11. Houndoomsday

    Houndoomsday

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2013
    Messages:
    1,027
    1. windows 7
    2. chrome 28.0.1500.95
    3. no and i dont feel like installing another browser just for showdown
    4. today
    5. ...thats the issue
    6. whenever i click "choose name", it lets me type it in, but it doesnt make me go by that name- i stay as a guest forever
  12. Arcticblast

    Arcticblast I'm John Morgan of Morgan and Morgan
    is a Tiering Contributoris a Forum Moderator Alumnusis a Community Contributor Alumnusis a Battle Server Moderator Alumnusis a SPL Winner
    Mentor

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    Messages:
    5,349
    Look two posts above you

    Like seriously
  13. Houndoomsday

    Houndoomsday

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2013
    Messages:
    1,027
    didnt work with 10 refreshes
  14. Hot N Cold

    Hot N Cold PLUTO
    is a Tiering Contributor Alumnus

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Messages:
    1,201
    1. Windows XP
    2. Chrome and FireFox last version
    3. Only this, no others
    4. I have 2 problems, one of them since does a pair of weeks (Chrome) and other since does some days (FireFox)
    5. Hot N Cold
    6. My problem with Chrome is that I cant join into the main with any of my account, just dont work the button "Choose name" a lot of times restarting the server but didnt work :| sometimes work if I first join into firefox showdown main then i can join sometimes into showdown main with Chrome but a lot of times I cant join on main server in any way like now. Btw, if I join in another server on PS anyways dont work on PS main.
    With FireFox dont work the "replays" a screen here:

    Show Hide

    [​IMG]


    thanks.

    edit: solved the problem with Chrome on the main server.

    Ok, this is worst lol

    Show Hide

    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Aug 15, 2013
  15. rdjacobian

    rdjacobian

    Joined:
    May 24, 2012
    Messages:
    27
    Operating system:
    Windows 8​
    Web Browser (with version, if you know it):
    I use Internet Explorer I'm not sure which version.​
    Have you tried other browsers? If so, which one, and does this problem happen on them as well?
    No I haven't, but I don't think the browser's the issue, since I haven't had this problem with Internet Explorer before.​
    When did this problem start?
    Yesterday - after I got +3000 on ladder (I'm too lazy to make a screenshot or whatever you guys do for RMT's, sign on and look up my rank if you don't believe me).​
    Your PS username:
    tst_041​
    And of, course, your problem (include any error messages verbatim. give frequency, etc.).
    I can't find any ladder matches- I spent twenty minutes waiting for a match with no luck last night, and lost about an hour tonight. I've been clicking the cancel button and reclicking the search for battle button every so often. There are people for me to play against; there's usually 10-15 battles going on at any given time in smogon doubles (the tier I've been having trouble finding games). I was able to get an ou match immediately upon searching for a battle there, so I'm assuming that this isn't an internet problem lol? I'd really appreciate some help.
    Thanks in advance,
  16. MJB

    MJB Sup Peeps
    is a Battle Server Admin Alumnus

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    448

    firstly don't use internet explorer.

    Now for the actual problem, you keep cancelling, the way the search algorithm works is the longer you search, the higher difference in rank it will allow you to be matched, so it other words, don't cancel (or play a more populated tier).
  17. Short Weekends

    Short Weekends

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    I tried to register my account and it didn't work. I kept on clicking the register button but nothing happened. I had already won 3 rated battles and I pm'd verbatim for help. He said for me to try /register and the message that popped up was that I needed to play a rated battle. Can anybody help?
  18. ChaosAkita

    ChaosAkita

    Joined:
    May 20, 2006
    Messages:
    189
    1. Operating system - Windows 7
    2. Web Browser (with version, if you know it) - Chrome
    3. Have you tried other browsers? If so, which one, and does this problem happen on them as well? - no, I do not have any others
    4. When did this problem start? - this week, after I got back to school. could it be a problem with my university ip address?
    5. Your PS username - fishspeakers
    6. And of, course, your problem (include any error messages verbatim. give frequency, etc.) - I can't log in to Pokemon Showdown. It asks me to fill in my username, but after I enter it nothing happens!
  19. Iminyourcloset

    Iminyourcloset OBJECTION! What do you mean I have a weakness now?!
    is a Battle Server Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    188
    As Arcticblast said, earlier on this page
    I've had this problem personally, and it is annoying. What I do is type in my usual name (the one it would automatically log onto; Closet) or try typing in a gibberish ("asdfasdfjfnebna" or something) name I'm sure isn't taken (if you're logging from a computer you've never logged onto before, I suppose) so I wouldn't have to type in a password, so you should be able to just refresh it and have a username, which then is easily changeable.
  20. morningsun

    morningsun

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2012
    Messages:
    103
    1. Operating system- Windows 7
    2. Web Browser (with version, if you know it)- Google Chrome
    3. Have you tried other browsers? If so, which one, and does this problem happen on them as well?- Internet Explorer; the problem remains.
    4. When did this problem start?- Yesterday
    5. Your PS username- Morningsun
    6. And of, course, your problem (include any error messages verbatim. give frequency, etc.). - "This server is requesting an invalid login key. This probably means that either the server is set up incorrectly, or you are banned." I have no idea why I would be banned. I almost never participate in the lobby chat, and I haven't done anything wrong. I get past initializing, connecting, etc., and all of the places are loading, including the battle areas.
  21. Cinco Diablo

    Cinco Diablo

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,258
    Your problem is most likely related to this. http://pokemonshowdown.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=921
  22. Mari

    Mari

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Messages:
    191
    1. Linux 3.8.13-gentoo
    2. Seamonkey 2.17
    3. Everything works fine with another Seamonkey profile. However it is the profile of root.
    4. Today (I have not played for a time.)
    5. Mari
    6. When I loaded the page (via http), it asked me to chose the username. Every time I tried to chose my username, nothing happened. Everything worked fine with another Seamonkey profile. My teams were still available at this time. I changed the protocol to https and got the message Connection error! (in red letters). I tried to load the page again and it works now (however, only via https). My problem is, that all my teams are away now. Can it be that the browser cache was invalid for some reason?
    Edit: Most of the teams are back again. Only recent changes have not been saved.

    Only for your reference (I don't know how to delete posts on the new board ...)
    Last edited: Aug 30, 2013
  23. Klelslol

    Klelslol

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    I'm not sure if this is the place to post this, but I'm attempting to run PS on my PS Vita web browser and it takes me like 10 tries to log in. I know it's not one of the supported browsers, but once I log in everything works fine. Is there anything that would help?
  24. Xboy

    Xboy

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    • Windows 7
    • Chrome
    • Firefox
    • Yesterday. After the server was restarted. i.e. a few moments after No SR tier was introduced
    • xboy
    • I received this message on an attempt to log in, "Your IP is on our abuse list and is permanently banned. If you are using a proxy, stop."

    I do not use a proxy server, neither have I spammed or anything. But I use shared IP because of my ISP which could be misidentified as a proxy server.
  25. BIGH1001

    BIGH1001

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    1. Windows 8
    2. chrome
    3. explorer
    4. about 6:30
    5. will be explained in problem
    6. PS won't download for me. i have a feeling that norton is the reason behind this.

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)