Water and Earth: an RU Semi-Stall Team

Hey, everyone! Mewtwo here after a million billion years' hiatus with another RMT!

I was sick of OU because it plays like Ubers, which it should not. The only strategies are weather offense, rain stall, and VoltTurn, and I’m sick of it. While I like Ubers because of the offensive nature, I don’t like how I can’t seem to switch anything in ever, and I’ve never been particularly successful in UU. So I dropped down to RU, a brand-new metagame with a brand-new attitude (but you still gotta catch them all...).

Two Waters and two Grounds: an interesting duality. However, the restricted Pokemon pool in RU has left me with a few serious issues and stalled my once-swift ascension up the ladder. I'm new to the metagame and the playstyle, so I don't really know what to drop for what.

I saw blarajan’s post about the Steelix/Mantine core, and I decided to make a semi-stall team around it. I decided to add Lanturn for added bulky Waterness and clerical duties. Its Volt Absorb also supports Mantine fairly well.

My team looked a bit slow, so I slapped on Scyther and supported it with an Armaldo. Stealth Rocks aren't gonna spin themselves, you know. Finally, because I planned on forcing switches, I drafted a Roselia for Spiking and defensive typing.

The team worked for a bit, but I noticed problems. Armaldo was slow, which was fine, but between his typing and defenses, he couldn’t take hits very well. Like, at all. So I replaced him with old favorite Sandslash, and that worked out for a while.

Then, I saw Mantine going belly-up in the face of physical attacks, Tangrowth, and Magmortar. While I can take care of Tangrowth all right with Rosie and Lanturn, Maggy proved a thorn in my side. I dropped Mantine in favor of Slowking, whose better physical bulk has served him well.