Gen 6 Mega Encore Zam + Volc

Hi everyone, so this is my first time discussing a team that I built last year, that has proven to give much success in my gameplay. I’ve played on and off in tournaments, ladder (which has been a joke for some time now), and playing against top players in hopes of improving my gameplay.

To start us off, the focus of this team build was centered around Mega Alakazam. I know Mega Zam is fairly frail in the metagame, but it also has a solid speed tier, and has an immense special attack stat. I knew that all good Zam sets must run Psychic, along with Focus Blast, however the last two slots are typically filled as Shadowball and either Calm Mind, Hidden Power Ice/Fire, or Encore. Encore’s potential isn’t always given credit for, but has proven to be valuable to the team’s purpose. It provides pressure to various setup mons that are common in the tier, such as clefable, slowbro, gliscor, manaphy, and bisharp, while providing you with the opportunity to gain momentum on helpful switchins.