Project PU Player Of The Week - Megazard (Week 19)

TJ

Banned deucer.
is the Smogon Tour Season 34 Championis a Past SPL Championis a Two-Time Past SCL Champion

Megazard
Favorite Pokemon: Rayquaza
Most used Pokemon: Mesprit
Most known for: PUTL, PU/ AG Roomowner, Global Driver, PU Council, QC
TJ: Can you tell us a bit about yourself outside of Smogon?
MZ: I'm a 19 year old college freshman (sophomore in about a week), probably for math. Outside of spending a lot of time on mons, I play various video games, spend way too much time between Youtube and Netflix, read a fair bit, and I'm a professional podcaster™®. Basically anything that doesn't require going outside.

TJ: What made you choose your username?
MZ: I was like, 12 or something when I first started using it? Fairly certain the through process of the young, not very savvy internet user me was just "I'm gonna think of a cool username. How about Megazard Z?". This was after I had Bippy for about 2 months and really wasn't feeling it, which shall never be forgotten.

TJ: How and when did you get into competitive Pokemon / PU?
MZ: Saw Showdown linked on some random website or youtube video or something and decided to take a look. Back then I just played randbats and it probably took me about a month to discover that there was other stuff than the battle button, like chatrooms. OU was the starting place because default tier, but the room isn't exactly the most inviting to a young kid with zero internet skills so eventually I ended up in PU. I've never been attracted to it because of the low tier mons or anything, it was just a nice place that didn't seem to mind my presence, so I stuck around. Competitive play wasn't really my interest at first either, I was far more into Nuzlockes, but I'm just the kind of person who tries to go super hard and competitive whatever game I pick up, so that just came naturally.

TJ: How does it feel being the new PUTL? What do you enjoy most about it?