Question about EV training

Status
Not open for further replies.
(Apologies if this is the wrong section to post in)

Long time Pokemon player here, but I'm new to the idea of competitive Pokemon and all that needs to be done to make a team viable against other serious trainers. Frankly, it's overwhelming and seems incredibly time-consuming, and I was just going to pay someone to raise the team I wanted for me, but then I discovered this Super Training thing.

Is it enough to catch Pokemon with the proper nature and personality trait, then EV train them with Super Training? Or do I need to breed a million billion times to get perfect IV's or whatever? Also while I'm going through the story will my Pokemon possibly get EV's I don't want them to have? In which case should I just get some HM slaves to beat the story, then catch the Pokemon I want to use competitively once I've defeated the Elite Four and Champion?

IV breeding isn't that hard with Destiny Knots, and you can just ask mostthe3rd for his 6IV Dittos. And you should since IV's can make a huge difference in battle. Also, about your unwanted EV question, yes, every time you gain EXP, you gain EV's depending on the Pokemon. You probably won't get godly IVs for your in game team, so after you beat the game, then do all your competitive stuff.

NoCheese

"Jack, you have debauched my sloth!"
is a Site Content Manager Alumnusis a Forum Moderator Alumnusis a Contributor Alumnus
Welcome to Smogon, notplayingyou! In the future, questions like this should go in the "Have a Question" thread, located here.