1. Welcome to Smogon Forums! Please take a minute to read the rules.
  2. New to the forums? Check out our Mentorship Program!
    Our mentors will answer your questions and help you become a part of the community!

First Attempt at OU Team

Discussion in 'BW OU Teams' started by Anchormon92, Jan 27, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Anchormon92

Anchormon92

So I'm really new to competitive battling (haven't battled anyone yet), but I found Smogon and have been reading for the past few weeks. This is my first attempt at an OU team, and I want to do it on my SoulSilver game.

Basically the idea behind it is to load up on the residual damages and entry hazards. Again, this may be some noob strategy, but here was my attempt.

Please be forgiving of the formatting. I can change it if there's some protocol I should be following.

Lead: Forretress
    Careful Nature
    Shed Shell
    Sturdy
    252 HP/4 Def/252 SpD

Spikes
    Stealth Rock
    Rapid Spin
    Payback/Explosion

I liked the idea of the Specially Defensive Forretress. I think Payback works better to take away anti-spinners and keep Forretress alive, since he is also my spinner, but suicide lead seems interesting too. I would go with Payback right now.

Support: Tentacruel
    Relaxed Nature
    Black Sludge
    252 HP/120 Def/136 SpD
    Clear Body

Toxic Spikes
    Barrier
    Sludge Bomb
    Hydro Pump

So I ran into a shiny Tentacool in the wild and caught it. Turns out it has some nice IVs (29/12/26/12/31/24), so I'd like to use it. I think this set is nice. I'm just not sure how to spread EVs, so I'm copying some other sets Smogon has. Any help there is appreciated.

Spinblocker/Tank: Dusknoir
    Impish Nature
    Leftovers
    252 HP/28 Atk/228 Def
    Pressure

Pain Split
    Fire Punch
    Thunder Punch
    Shadow Sneak