XY OU First Team Built, Rate it Please + advice?

Hello friends, so i'm new to competitive, I've been playing for about a seven months now. This is the first team I've built and been happy with. However, I know its not even close to perfect. While I think i'm getting better at the battling aspect, I still struggle with building competent teams. I usually get stuck while laddering not always because of a skill difference, but because my team gets walled or has a bad match up.

I usually get stuck around here (OU)

rank80%.png

I realize my thought process for putting together teams might not be the best and may even be entirely wrong for competitive team building, but like I said i'm new and these are my methods. I'm hoping to learn more as time goes on.

Anyway this is my team, Thanks for any help :]

I guess the basic strategy I use with this team is to where down my opponent's team and then use priority plus late game sweepers to finish the game.

282-mega.gif

Gardevoir @ Gardevoirite
Ability: Trace
EVs: 24 Def / 232 SpA / 252 Spe
Timid Nature
- Hyper Voice
- Psyshock
- Hidden Power [Ground]
- Taunt

Mega Gardevoir was the last mon added to my team. I was having trouble with Heatran walling my team, as my only other counters were Azumarill (Whom could get burned, and become useless.) or Dragonite (Whom I mainly use as a late game sweeper, and could also be burned.). Gardevoirs trace gave me a way to deal with Heatran at least to some extent because I could switch to a lava plume, and answer back with HP ground. Psyshock and taunt also gave me a way to deal with blissey and mega Venusaur, the former being a real pain to the basic strategy of my team. I also felt like my team suffered from a lack of speed and power, as well as being a little weak on the special defensive side, and Gardevoir seemed to help all of these roles.

149.gif

Dragonite @ Choice Band
Ability: Multiscale
EVs: 252 Atk / 4 Def / 252 Spe
Adamant Nature
- Outrage
- Extreme Speed
- Earthquake