I'm not a scientist

so I read this last week but was thinking about it again today when this thought crossed my mind: "who loves drama more than those nerds studying at Smogon University? no one"

http://stanford.edu/~dbroock/broockman_kalla_aronow_lg_irregularities.pdf
http://www.retractionwatch.com/2015...riage-after-colleague-admits-data-were-faked/
http://www.washingtontimes.com/news/2015/may/20/donald-green-co-author-disavows-popular-gay-marria/
http://www.nytimes.com/2015/05/26/science/maligned-study-on-gay-marriage-is-shaking-trust.html
http://chronicle.com/article/We-Need-to-Take-a-Look-at/230313/
http://nymag.com/scienceofus/2015/05/co-author-of-the-faked-study-speaks-out.html
http://www.sciencemag.org/content/346/6215/1366.abstract

(the articles have some interesting interviews with the cast of this dramatic production)

summary: grad student at UCLA published a study last year that claimed to show that when gay canvassers talk to people about gay marriage, it has a long-lasting effect on opinion that spreads to family members that is not present when straight canvassers talk to people. this was a pretty important paper because it's about gay people and everyone loves to argue about gay people (but also, it contextualized the effect of several "common sense" psych principles in a real-world case). some dudes at stanford agreed that it was cool and wanted to do something similar, except when they tried, their opinion survey did not end up nearly the same. uh oh. so they looked into the original paper's data and found some statistical oddities -- some data was too similar to other data, some data was too "nice" for coming from a survey, and they found that they could produce the same results from an external previous data source. the senior author of the original paper agreed that something was up, sent a retraction request to science, and now the first author (the UCLA grad student) appears to be in deep shit.