Serious Let's Talk About Tax (thrilling, I know)

McGrrr

Facetious
is a Contributor Alumnus
This is intended as a general discussion about tax. I'm an accountant by profession, but I'm British, so I encourage my overseas counterparts to participate as I'm not an expert on e.g. US tax.

That said, I'm also an economist, and I want to kick things off by addressing the popular idea that increasing tax rates will increase government tax revenues.

A lot of people think that the relationship between tax rates and tax revenue is a straight line:

1586598415092.png

That is, tax revenue increases hand in hand with the tax rate. From a low resolution point of view, that makes a lot of sense, but this is far too simple and is an unrealistic representation of the real world.

In reality, the relationship looks much more like this:

1586599405263.png

This is the Laffer Curve, named after Art Laffer (a former Reagan adviser, and truly vile person, but his contribution is widely accepted as a useful illustrative model)

Let me explain:
  • The initial gradient is steep because (in a progressive tax system) more people are caught in the lowest tax bracket than each subsequent higher bracket
  • To the left of the maximum, increasing marginal tax will increase tax revenue, albeit with diminishing returns, and that makes sense because there are fewer and fewer earners in higher income brackets
  • To the right of the maximum, increasing marginal tax actually reduces tax revenue for a number of reasons:
    • The rich begin to emigrate to countries with lower tax. In pure currency terms, the rich contribute the majority of tax revenues. In percentage terms, they arguably contribute less than a lot of ordinary people (especially if you consider consumption tax)
    • Higher marginal tax is an incentive for tax avoidance and evasion
    • Higher marginal tax is a disincentive to work/produce more at the margin