Gen 3 Questions on RS200 -> RSFRLG

UltiMario

Out of Obscurity
is a Pokemon Researcher
I've been looking into the history of competitive Pokemon to try and understand the evolution of the metagames. I'm particularly looking into how metagames take shape and how changes effect the previous metagames.

However, there's on particular issue. I started playing competitive Pokemon after the release of Emerald. I've only see the evolutions of Gen IV and Gen V, and anything before that I can really only look at the end result of the metagame.

One particular piece of information I'm looking into right now is what happened in the transfer from the old RS200 metagame to the FRLG one when the games were introduced. I'm just looking for general information about RS200 and how the metagame shifted from older members. All info that I can get is very much appreciated, but there's one bit of info in particular I'm looking for as well. What was the overall community reaction to Tyranitar? The first perma-weather inducer being introduced to the tier all of the sudden must've been a big change. What opinions did people have about it, and how did the introduction of permanent Sand Stream shift the metagame?

Again, that's just one bit of info I'm very much interested in. If older members that experienced this shift want to contribute anything about that time period, please do.

gene

(* ̄(エ) ̄*)
is a Tournament Director Alumnusis a Site Content Manager Alumnusis a Forum Moderator Alumnusis a Smogon Discord Contributor Alumnusis a Battle Simulator Moderator Alumnusis a Past SPL Championis a Two-Time Past WCoP Champion