Monotype Ready to Go / VoltTurn Steel

maroon

free palestine
is a Site Content Manageris a Top Team Rateris a Member of Senior Staffis a Community Contributoris a Top Tiering Contributoris a Top Contributoris a Top Smogon Media Contributoris a Dedicated Tournament Hostis a Top Tutor Alumnusis a Top Social Media Contributor Alumnus
RMT & Mono Leader

Banner by Zyo

Hey All! I'm iExca today im sharing with you my favorite Balanced Steel team as the ORAS draws closer to an end. Some of may know me from when I was in Phoenix and a few other leagues or some of my posts on the Monotype forums such as my Monotype Champions project. When I started playing OU I found that my favorite playstyle was VoltTurn Balance which lead me to build the Steel team. This team also was made to help Steel handle it common weaknesses especially Water which gives Steel a fair amount of trouble. Anyway without further ado here is my team!

Scizor-Mega @ Scizorite
Ability: Techinican
EVs: 248 HP / 44 Atk / 16 Def / 200 SpD
Impish Nature
- Swords Dance
- Roost
- Bullet Punch
- U-turn

I chose Mega Scizor as the teams mega evolution due to its great natural bulk, both a great defensive and offensive typing, access to reliable recovery, is a great setup sweeper and is apart of the teams VoltTurn core. It gives the team a great defensive pivot and alleviates many matchups that might trouble steel such as Psychic and Dark due to its great Bug Stab while providong great priority and overall being useful in most matchups. Roost is to preserve Scizor's longetivity in the match, U-turn is to gain and keep momentum on tour side of the field, Swords Dance helps Scizor setup and clean late game and take out targets that could otherwise easily wall it and finally Bullet Punch is great Priority Stab boosted by Techinican making Scizor a very annoying pokemon to try and pick off. Mega Scizor functions as the teams slow physical pivot and can help easily bring offensive threats to the field.