1. Remember to check the Simple Questions/Simple Answers , Suggestions , Bug Reports and Technical Support threads before posting. If you have something that warrants extended discussion then post a thread, but when in doubt, please use an already existing thread
  2. New to the forums? Check out our Mentorship Program!
    Our mentors will answer your questions and help you become a part of the community!
  3. Welcome to Smogon Forums! Please take a minute to read the rules.

Technical Support Mk. 2 (READ OP BEFORE POSTING!)

Discussion in 'Pokémon Showdown!' started by Antar, Jul 22, 2012.

  1. MCBarrett

    MCBarrett i love it when you call me big hoppa

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    Messages:
    551
    OS: Mountain lion
    Browser: safari
    When: 10 pm eastern time friday night
    PS username: MCBarrett
    problem: same problem as naagza. The rating goes up too fast, after 10 battles i had a higher rating than #1 on the ladder and it took 10-15 minutes to get a battle for my next 3 battles before i stopped. I think its also causing battlers who arent as good to be on the ladder since they're the only ones who can get the 50 or 100 battles required to be seen on the ladder since their ranking isnt too high.
  2. Bryce

    Bryce Lun

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2012
    Messages:
    442
    1.Operating system: Windows XP
    2.Web Browser: Google Chrome
    3. Have you tried this on other browsers: No
    4. When this problem started: My problem started one or two days ago.
    5.My PS Username:Vence
    6.Problem:I used to be able to connect and play on PS just fine.However,I was doing a battle when I got disconnencted.I was going to close it anyway so I didn't bother reconnecting.The next day I tried to join PS but however It wouldn't proceed any further than connecting to log in server.
    If the client is taking a long time to load, try refreshing in a few minutes. If it still doesn't work, Pokemon Showdown may be down for maintenance. We apologize for the inconvenience.

    Initializing... DONE
    Loading libraries... DONE
    Loading client... DONE
    Connecting to login server...

    And nothing.It won't go any further.I havent downloaded or added anything to my com.I had a similar problem after the firtst DDoS attack way back.I need help pls!
  3. Serlexington

    Serlexington

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    1. windows 2000
    2. firefox
    3. internet explorer
    4. oct. 1 2012
    5. Ser Lexington
    6. When i get into a battle i see a button that says "join battle" but nothing happens and i eventually get disconnected. I can see the background of the battlefield but nothing else.
  4. CrazyMLC

    CrazyMLC

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Messages:
    1
  5. Alade

    Alade

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    1. Windows 7 64bit
    2. Chrome Version 22.0.1229.94 m
    3. Firefox 12.0 (Same problem)
    4. Today, can't really pinpoint the exact time.
    5. Zaydar
    6. My Antivirus marked the site as hazardous, it is worth to note that only http://play.pokemonshowdown.com/lobby has been marked as such, http://www.pokemonshowdown.com hasn't. I've been using the site for a month so this is completely new, here is the full message that pops up:

    Warning
    In order not to compromise your security, this page will not be accessed
    The requested URL has been identified as a potentially dangerous website.
    Further information as to why this page was blocked can be found here. A description of how to remove the block for this page is available here.
    Requested URL: http://play.pokemonshowdown.com/lobby
    Category/categories:
    Malware


    Avira is a damn fine antivirus and I need some reassurance that the site is still safe.
  6. Zacchaeus

    Zacchaeus
    is a Battle Server Moderator Alumnus

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    3,261
    1. (Operating system) Windows 7
    2. (Web Browser) IE9, Maxthon 3
    3. (When did this problem start?) Yesterday
    4. (PS username)
    5. (Problem) Can't connect to PS from my home. Either the page can't be displayed or the connecting screen just goes on indefinitely
  7. MJB

    MJB Sup Peeps
    is a Battle Server Admin Alumnus

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    449
    Try this on chrome and see if that fixes the problem.
    If not make sure you are not using a proxy or anything like that.
  8. Bmania

    Bmania

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    1. (Operating System) Windows 7
    2. (Web Browser) IE9. I've also tried Chrome, same result
    3. (When did the problem start) I checked on it everyday from 10/12 to today (10/14)
    4. (PS Username) Bmania
    5. (Problem) Same as Alade, except my antivirus software is McAfee. It says...
    Whoa!

    Are you sure you want to go there?

    http://play.pokemonshowdown.com/lobby may be risky to visit.

    Why were you redirected to this page?
    • When we visited this site, we found it exhibited one or more risky behaviors.
    I really want to play showdown again, but im not sure its worth messing my computer up if the warning is true.
  9. mikel

    mikel frizy will carry ocn
    is a Contributor to Smogonis a Battle Server Admin Alumnusis a Forum Moderator Alumnus

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2011
    Messages:
    973
    I can tell you, as a long term user of PS, that it is 100% safe. Both the server and client codes are accessible and viewable (will link in a sec when I'm on my lappy) and the reading is a false positive, probably due to use of Javascript and/or saving cookies. Consider adding play.pokemonshowdown.com to McAfee's whitelist.
  10. Zarel

    Zarel Not a Yuyuko fan
    is a member of the Site Staffis a Battle Server Administratoris a Programmeris a Pokemon Researcheris an Administrator
    Creator of PS

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,778
    Actually, neither Avira nor McAfee are very good antiviruses, because they are made by antivirus companies.

    The problem with antivirus companies is, frankly, that they are in the business of fear mongering. Antivirus companies make money by telling people that their computers are unsafe. If they don't tell a user "This might be a virus!" the user won't have any reason to install their software, and then they wouldn't earn money.

    So while antivirus software tend to be fairly good about not having false negatives (not detecting viruses), they don't have very much incentive to deal with false positives (calling something that isn't a virus a virus).

    Many communities have problems with antivirus software being overzealous.

    Chrome, Firefox, and even IE have built-in lists of what sites are dangerous. Microsoft themselves have an antivirus named Microsoft Security Essentials. It's much better to trust companies that don't earn money from exaggerating how dangerous various software and websites are.

    Can you tell me where these links lead?
  11. mklo14

    mklo14

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2011
    Messages:
    81
    1. Windows Vista
    2. Google Chrome
    3. No I believe this isn't a ladder problem
    4. Today October 14 (after ladder reset
    5. Bartlebee222
    6. After the ladder was reset, people with bold names, but fewer point would be above me on the ladder ranking for ubers. I was ranked second a lot of the day, then went to 22nd because the top fifteen people had bold names but lesser points. Here is a copy paste. Not a major issue but it'd be nice if it was resolved.
    Name ACRE GXE Glicko2
    1 Haruno 1851 82.7 1912 ± 75
    2 Hawkstar 1826 83.3 1926 ± 99
    3 Tchikamireal 1763 81.1 1885 ± 88
    4 superjuan 1627 69.1 1710 ± 59
    5 DarkLatios 1612 71.5 1744 ± 94
    6 Viso 1554 67.1 1688 ± 95
    7 skidog 1510 63.2 1643 ± 94
    8 Ish. 1504 63.1 1642 ± 98
    9 RickyRoper 1491 61.9 1628 ± 98
    10 chevii 1480 58.2 1587 ± 77
    11 ntiller 1454 54.5 1548 ± 66
    12 Bokan 1449 57.6 1581 ± 94
    13 scrambledleggs 1436 49.8 1498 ± 44
    14 Loche 1311 42.8 1424 ± 80
    15 Cuba Zed 1110 24.9 1210 ± 71
    16 PKMN Kyurem 1832 87.7 2038 ± 158 (provisional)
    17 II Sapph II 1811 85.1 1966 ± 110 (provisional)
    18 MMMMTASTY 1786 85.9 1990 ± 147 (provisional)
    19 Miensha69 1779 84.8 1964 ± 133 (provisional)
    20 homa geto popp y 1760 80.4 1876 ± 103 (provisional)
    21 Doc GL 1756 86.2 2010 ± 180 (provisional)
    22 TheWhiteRose 1715 81.8 1906 ± 136 (provisional)
    23 bartlebee222 1714 80.4 1879 ± 122 (provisional)
    24 dblacstardust 1712 81.7 1904 ± 136 (provisional)
    25 frankk 1690 82.0 1917 ± 168 (provisional)

    You can't tell but the top fifteen are in bold print, the rest in light print.
  12. Bryce

    Bryce Lun

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2012
    Messages:
    442
    can anyone please post solution to my problem in post #102.It had stopped for some time but has started again recently.It seems I can't connect to the login server.
  13. mklo14

    mklo14

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2011
    Messages:
    81
    my solution fixed itself. Apparently just an error occured with the ladder reset I guess? Sadly I lost my second place rank in ubers, oh well ladder resets happen!
  14. Relados

    Relados
    is a Battle Server Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,040
    This is because the top 15 players have nonprovisional ratings and thus theirs are considered more "official." To do the same for yours, you need to win more battles so the deviation lowers as the server can more accurately calculate your rating.
  15. JirachiCelebiMew

    JirachiCelebiMew

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2012
    Messages:
    437
    1) (Operating System) Windows 7
    2) (Web Browser) Google Chrome
    3) (Other Browsers?)
    4) (When did this problem start) At least 2 weeks ago.
    5) (PS! Username) 9 Dragons in a Can
    6) (Problem) I can't seem to connect, every time I try, my page stays bugged on this thing: http://imgur.com/akOXB. Yep, I can't play PS! and it really sucks. Now I have to battle on PO, with their crappy tiers.
  16. Nyktos

    Nyktos Custom Loser Title
    is a Pre-Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    565
    1. Windows 7
    2. Firefox 16
    3. Same problem in Chrome and IE
    4. Several weeks ago
    5. Nyktos
    6. The login screen just stays on "Joining Showdown server..." forever.
    I've had issues like this with PS in the past but usually they would fix themselves after a couple of days. This one has gone on far longer than it ever has before.
  17. will222

    will222

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    same thing with me please help
  18. Noob Asian

    Noob Asian

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2012
    Messages:
    20
    1. Windows 7
    2. Chrome
    3. Have used FireFox and IE (although I dont think the browser is the problem)
    4. Since the DDoS
    5. NoobAsian & EliteFourFailure
    6. The Backup/restore button does not work on this computer, however it's fine on other computers when I use it.
  19. Furai

    Furai wellfare
    is a Site Staff Alumnusis a Team Rater Alumnusis a Forum Moderator Alumnusis a Community Contributor Alumnusis a Contributor Alumnusis a Smogon Media Contributor Alumnusis a Past SPL Winner

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,844
    Clear your cookies; it worked for me!
  20. mikel

    mikel frizy will carry ocn
    is a Contributor to Smogonis a Battle Server Admin Alumnusis a Forum Moderator Alumnus

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2011
    Messages:
    973
    Make sure to keep a copy of the local storage file if you can, just to try to keep a copy of your teams. Note that clearing cookies will delete all of your teams.
  21. Reymedy

    Reymedy They live and die by my command.
    is a Tutoris an official Team Rateris a Forum Moderatoris a Community Contributoris a Tiering Contributor
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012
    Messages:
    1,520
    The cookie clearing did not work :(
    I got exactly the same issue.


    * The other servers work, maybe I've been randomly banned? :<

    *Now it works, I did nothing to fix it..
  22. Chou Toshio

    Chou Toshio @Fighting Necktie
    is a Forum Moderatoris a Community Contributoris an Artist Alumnusis a Contributor Alumnusis a Smogon Media Contributor Alumnusis a Battle Server Moderator Alumnus
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,210
    Hope I'm doing this right


    1. Operating system
    2. Web Browser (with version, if you know it)
    3. Have you tried other browsers? If so, which one, and does this problem happen on them as well?
    4. When did this problem start?
    5. Your PS username
    6. And of, course, your problem (include any error messages verbatim. give frequency, etc.).

    1) Mac OS 10.5.8 (yeah, I'm on the dated, no-longer supported OS so...)
    2) Firefox 16.1 (yeah, I'm on the firefox for the dated no-longer supported OS so...)
    3) I got no problems playing it even on my current, and not from my iPad
    4) After one of the updates, about a month or so back?
    5) Chou Toshio
    6) I just can't get the battle sounds to work (this is so minor I haven't even bothered reporting it for over a month; but I miss my poke-cries so... yeah)
  23. Aurora

    Aurora
    is a Battle Server Moderator Alumnus

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2011
    Messages:
    562
    There is a known issue with battle sounds on Firefox; your answer to number 4 seems consistent with this, as it was after an update that this began to occur.

    Battle sounds are functional on Google Chrome; however, your system is too old to run the current release. Maybe try downloading an old version of it?
  24. JirachiCelebiMew

    JirachiCelebiMew

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2012
    Messages:
    437
    Yep, I still can't play Showdown. Problem hasn't been solved, and clearing my cookies didn't work either. What can I do?
  25. Majestic Electric

    Majestic Electric

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Messages:
    228
    1. Operating system: Windows 7
    2.Web Browser: Google Chrome
    3. Have you tried this on other browsers: No
    4. When this problem started: After the newest update.
    5. My PS Username: Majestic Electric
    6. Problem:I used to be able to connect and play on PS just fine. However, now it won't let me log in.

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)