Touhou Project

Does anyone else here play Touhou? I know Kit does for certain, but it will be nice to see other Touhou fans here. I only started playing it recently and I'm really bad at it, but I like what I've played so far.

I've played all of the relevant ones

never did beat Lunatic Kingdom, I blame that partly on the fact that I started working full time and mostly the fact that the difficulty was amped up to 11 (there's a Subterreanean Animism joke in there somewhere but it doesn't work because Lunatic Kingdom is even harder)

cityscapes

Take care of yourself.
is a Tiering Contributoris a Community Contributor Alumnus
hey sorry for the bump, but i wanted to talk about this series. i got into it a few months ago, i've known about the music for a while but actually tried out the games after seeing a random yt video in my recommended. i started with imperishable night and have mainly been playing that, and some ufo as well.

the touhou stereotype for most people is levels full of near-impossible to dodge bullet patterns that you need both memorization and insane precision to dodge, like genocide sans in undertale. but the difficulty curve is actually done so well. it really says something that a game that's only 40 minutes long can be fun for hundreds of hours.

i would say that the spell card practice mode is what really carries the game. it encourages you to use it in the first place through the notes you unlock for each spell card when you capture them, and it encourages you to improve on spell cards you're not that good at through saving your records. it's not the most fun thing in the world, but the results are visible in future runs and it feels really good to see your hard work pay off. that's one of the things i like about this game, it rewards effort.