Data An OU Bot

Status
Not open for further replies.
Approved by AM.

Hi, I wrote a bot that automatically plays on the OU ladder (EDIT: I asked Smogon staff members for permission before running it online). Currently, it is extremely bad. Its only win was against a poor chap who used toxic orbs on both a Breloom and Gliscor, neither of which had poison heal. Oops.
While bad now, it should theoretically learn over time, but I have know idea what the asymptotic skill level upon which it converges will be. Hopefully much higher.

I heard that there may already be plenty of other bots playing, but I haven't been able to find any info. Let me know if you have any!

This post explains the general idea of what is going on with. I discuss some general idea of the concepts, followed by more technical explanations hidden under tags.
I feel like my code looks like this, so I am a little embarrassed about it. I have never done anything like this before; I got super excited when reading about a lot of different concepts and ideas that I wanted to try them out and settled on Pokemon as a guinea pig. I would do a lot of things very differently.

There are three levels of learning going on:
1) Choosing a Team
2) Making inferences about the opponent's team
3) Deciding on actions

1) Team Choice
This is simple: the bot currently has a list of 52 teams, and records an action value for each. If a team wins, its action value goes up while a loss will lower it.
The probability of picking a team is related to the action value: the better the team, the more likely the bot will pick it.

The action values are related to means. After each game, they are updated according to the following formula:
if the team won:
new action value = old action value + alpha * (1 - old action value)
if the team lost:
new action value = old action value - alpha * old action value