SM OU SM Team (Sand)

So, I can admit that I am a total beginner when it comes to competitive battling. I have had my fair share of battles, however, and i found a team that i have had some decent success with. It turned out to be some kind of bizarre sand team, that ended up working for some reason or another. I was hoping to get some feedback on how i could improve my team to make it much more competitively viable. Thanks ahead of time for looking at my team! ^u^

Steelix-Mega @ Steelixite
Ability: Sturdy
EVs: 252 Atk / 4 SpD / 252 Spe
Jolly Nature
- Rock Polish
- Heavy Slam
- Earthquake
- Rock Slide

So, my first member of my team is this different take on Mega-Steelix. One thing i noticed is that it had the abillity "Sand Force" once it mega evolved, and i wanted to play around with it. I ended up making this sand sweeper set because of it. Rock Polish is the key to this. The EVs are made to maximize speed and attack, but even with max speed, it wasn't going to outspeed anything. However, Rock Polish doubles Steelix's poor speed, and allows it to reach a speed stat of 348 after one use, enough to outspeed any pokemon with less than 110 base speed, even if it is maxed out. "Sand Force" applies a damage boost to steel, ground, and rock moves in a sandstorm, so Steelix carries Heavy Slam, Earthquake, and Rock Slide respectivly to use its abillity to its fullest potential.

Hippowdon @ Smooth Rock
Ability: Sand Stream
EVs: 252 HP / 12 Def / 176 SpD
Impish Nature
- Stealth Rock
- Earthquake
- Slack Off
- Whirlwind