Non-Pokébank OU Starman - Minior Hyper Offense!

Hello there! Thanks for clicking on my "Starman" RMT. I think that Hyper Offense is one of the hardest, yet most rewarding playstyles in Pokemon. The reason I say so is that HO requires you to be two steps ahead of your opponent at most points throughout the battle, strategically weakening opposing walls and removing checks to your own sweepers, all the while maintaining hazard control and eventually finding an opportunity to set up and sweep.

GET IN THE MOOD WITH SOME BOWIE!

My name is Nick, or Ablesyee. I started playing competitive Pokemon in late XY and have been hooked through ORAS into SUMO, really only becoming a "decent" player near the end of the ORAS meta. I've posted one RMT prior to this for ORAS OU. I aspire to become a Pokemon youtuber, but I've gotta get way better at the game before I do so. I wanted especially to post this team because it was used by two very popular Pokemon players and youtubers, of whom you all probably know: Aim, and Shofu. I'd passed the team to Aim on his stream and he decided to use it for a showcase.

I knew that I wanted to use Minior, as it's one of my favourite SUMO mons. I decided to pair it with Magnezone to assist it with trapping support after setting up a Shell Smash.

Added Mega Pinsir to the core because flying spam.

Every HO team has a lead - I went with Lycanroc, the fastest rocks setter in the Non-Pokebank meta.

I originally had scarf Tapu Lele in this slot for a fast, strong attacker and to protect Minior from priority like M-Scizor's Bullet Punch, but found out that it didn’t work like that since Minior was airborne. Also, Lele stops Mega Pinsir’s Quick Attack, which is awful.

Tentacruel acted as my water resist and hazard removal.

Scarf Garchomp was a much better fit for the team. It provided not only a fast attacker and revenge killer, but also a much needed electric immunity.