Tournament Scheduling Guidelines

Status
Not open for further replies.

jake

underdog of the year
is a Tournament Director Alumnusis a Site Staff Alumnusis a Team Rater Alumnusis a Super Moderator Alumnusis a Community Contributor Alumnusis a Researcher Alumnusis a Tiering Contributor Alumnusis a Top Contributor Alumnusis a Smogon Media Contributor Alumnusis a Battle Server Moderator Alumnus

credit to Stratos for the written guide, credit to teal6 for the video

Guide to Scheduling (with Pictures)!

Hello everyone! I've been entering tournaments on Smogon for nearly six years, and have never once incurred an activity loss (at least that I remember). Furthermore, as a prolific tournaments host on Smogon, I have witnessed some rather... innovative methods of scheduling for tours. Having seen how an activity loss catastrophically affects some users who were betrayed by their own less-than-stellar scheduling abilities, I decided to share the secret of my success with the masses. Follow this simple guide and you, too, will never take an activity loss again! Throughout this guide I'll refer to user profile messages as VMs because that's what they were called on vBulletin and it's a much more convenient name.

The Golden Rule: Do it in Public

Remember, scheduling is a game with two goals. Goal 1 is to schedule with your opponent, but Goal 2—which is actually more important!—is to make sure that the host of the tournament knows you're on top of scheduling with your opponent. A tournament host has two sources of information: user profiles and the tournament thread itself. Anything they need to know should be accessible on one of these two media. Scheduling with your opponent in a private conversation without saving logs may seem like a good idea at the time, but if disaster strikes and you don't actually play, you have no proof that you deserve the activity win. Oh, no!

The Ideal Scheduling Conversation