UU Player of the Week #15: Omfuga

Approved by Sam and Hikari

Hello, and welcome to UU's player of the week where I interview
some of Smogon's most accomplished and well knowns players in the tier to give
some insight on who they are and their views on certain aspects of the metagame.
If there's someone you want to see interviewed next week, shoot me a PM!

Omfuga
Can you tell us a bit about yourself?

I'm 17 years old from central jersey and I've been playing mons competitively since I was 12 years old. Currently I'm a high school student who stresses about SAT/colleges and, of course, Pokemon! My name is Ryan and outside of pokemon, mostly, I enjoy just chilling with my friends.

Most Known For:
Been a pretty avid lower tier player since gen 5. Got top 15 in gslam, and made top 8 in UU open. So far I'm 7-1 in UUPL and managing the #1 seed, the Jynxes! I slowly rose to power as tier leader and a relevant player on PO, then as PO's community started to whittle, I came to Smogon and rapidly climbed to RU and UU council. Unfortunately, I had a pretty bad SPL (1-3 record), but hope to redeem myself in future tours such as Gslam.

Favorite Pokemon:
Jynx or Starmie for sure! The first pokemon game I had was pokemon Stadium, followed by Blue and Red. In pokemon Stadium the best rental pokemon was Jynx, and I loved it because it always ended up being my MVP. Starmie was what I used in-game with recover/surf/ice beam/tbolt which basically beat the whole elite four for me, and I've loved both since.

Also special shoutouts to Magneton.

Most used UU Pokemon:
Probably Porygon2 at the moment. P2 is, in my opinion, the best staple for ORAS teams. It walls things like pidgeot and can take on almost half the tier. It's simply too hard to kill this thing. Its passivity, in my opinion, is outweighed by its attributed.

I also like Gligar/Machamp/Aromatisse/Defensive Salamence, but I haven't been using them as consistently in ORAS as I have been using P2.