The Smogon Premier League is a team tournament where teams will take on each other in head to head matches. Each team will face all the others once in the league stages. After the league stage is complete, the top 4 in the standings will face off in a single elimination tournament to see which team will be the Premier League champion. In each matchup, 12 players play in a variety of styles, these are:

  • XY OU 1
  • XY OU 2
  • XY Ubers
  • XY Doubles
  • XY LC
  • BW OU
  • BW UU
  • BW RU
  • BW NU
  • DPP OU
  • ADV OU
  • GSC OU

There are 10 teams, consisting of 12 active players, and a minimum of 2 subs.

League Stages

Not all 10 teams will qualify to play in the playoffs. Based on the results of the League stage, the top 4 teams will advance to the playoffs.

In the league stages, beating another team gives you 2 points, drawing the match gives you 1 point, and losing it gives you nothing. In addition, the manner in which you win will also be stored; that is, how many you won vs how many you lost. This difference will be used in case of a tie at the end of the league stage.


Based on the league stage, the top 4 teams will be seeded and placed into a bracket, in which they will go head to head.

Teams will battle in the same format as during the league stage. At the end of all 10 battles, the team with more wins will advance to the next round. In the case of a tie, both teams will nominate three players to play in a best of 3 consisting of 3 of the 5 OU gens (decided randomly). The winner of this best of three will move on.

The Tournament will progress in this format until there is only one team left standing, the champion of the Smogon Premier League.