Programming Cube On : A battle bot (currently OU no mega only)

huge graphical skills were needed for that

Summary

Hello, I've been programming for about ten months, randomly stopping and resuming the project, a battle bot, which has now reached the level of a beginner that never anticipates. Clearly not enough to win matches, but I thought it was interesting to present anyway, especially to show how the AI thinks.

It is written in python, and the code is at the end. It does not depend of the tier, only needing a set database to work in any tier. It also adapts to the given team.

Let's jump straight to the AI :

How the AI proceeds

The bot will use two databases according to the tier he's playing in. (Right now, ou.)
One of them is the huge statistic DB available to all : http://www.smogon.com/stats/2015-04/
And the other is one I make myself. It contains the most common sets about the most common pokemons.

Using this, the bot will, as soon as it sees the opponent team, make a "guess" about their sets. In the case he's dealing with a pokemon that is in the precise database, he will assume he has its most common set. If it is not in the handmade database, he will create a (most likely stupid) set using the statistics : most common item, ability, EV spread, and 4 most used moves. This leads to some stupid situations, for instance, if a pokemon use half the time Fire Blast, and otherwise uses Flamethrower... the bot could end up guessing he has both. But that is easily solved by extending the database.
Also, if he meets a pokemon that doesn't even appear in the usage stat, well, he crashes but ... just why did the opponent use Surskit ?...

This having been done, the bot thinks he approximatively has a knowledge of the situation. This lead us to the core of the matter : the bot works by situation rating.