1. Welcome to Smogon! Check out the Smogon Starters Hangout for everything you need to know about starting out in the community. Don't forget to introduce yourself in the Introduction and Hangout Thread, too!
  2. Welcome to Smogon Forums! Please take a minute to read the rules.

My first Competitive team

Discussion in 'BW OU Teams' started by Kate396, Jul 7, 2013.

1. Kate396

Kate396

This is my first competitive team, so I just wanted some input on it, it's for my third gen games. I'm open to any constructive criticism.

I decided to make it, for a few reasons, the first is, I can't even get through the first few levels of Orre Colosseum in Pokemon XD, and the Battle frontier in both emerald and Platinum. the second is I recently battled a friend, and they kicked my @ss like it was nothing. I knew I was more bark than bite, but that was ridiculous. The final reason is I've been into the Pokemon games for a while now, and I've never done this before, and I thought it might be interesting to try out competitive battling.

Special Sweeper[​IMG]
    Alakazam @ Twisted Spoon
    Trait: Synchronize
    Max IVs: Special attack/Speed/Defense
    EVs: 252 Special attack/129 speed/ 129 Defense
    Nature: Modest
    ~ Psychic
    ~ Calm Mind
    ~ Thunder Punch
    ~ Ice Punch
    It seems like if a Pokemon is a strong attacker, it also has a semi strong defense, and is semi weak in Special Defense, and vice versa so with Alakazam I decided to max out its special attack, but split the rest of it's EV's between it's speed and defense, figuring that if I send him out to attack a Pokemon that has a weak special defense, it will probably have a strong attack. If that makes sense. As for strategy, I pretty much just plan to attack with whatever works best, that's about it.

Physical Sweeper [​IMG]
    Salamence @ ???
    Trait: Intimidate
    Max IVs: Attack/Speed/Special Defense
    EVs: 252 Attack/129 Speed/129 Special Defense
    Nature: Adamant
    ~ Double Edge