Talking accross the table is rude (Language Discussion)

Hey smogon, its Raikou and I have another thought provoking discussion today. Before I start, please remain civilized in this thread because it is a very controversial discussion.

So I am an American college student and many of you who attend American universities will know that there are a lot of international students attending these schools. I was sitting in the dining hall today, with my best friend who is Haitian (like straight from Haiti and speaks French), his other Haitian friend, two African students, and the rest of the five others were American (white and black if you must know). So basically, the table was representative of America as a country, a melting pot. However, while we were all eating and having our own conversations, etc., the two haitian students (who were not sitting next to each other, there were 3 students between them) started having a private conversation accross the table in creole, their native dialect. One of my American friends found this very offensive and confronted them about saying that it was rude and disprespectful. While I am a very accepting person, I agreed with her and also felt that it was very disrespectful.

So the meat of the discussion comes here: The reason why my friend and I find this disrespectful is that speaking in your native language in public when you are fluent in english is sort of like in a slap in the face. She took at as "what I'm saying is not for your ears so I will let that be known." The polite thing she suggested was for them to go have a private conversation at another table if they were going to speak in a different language. Their response was "why can't I speak in my own language. This is America, the country that accepts all cultures. Don't we have freedom of speech?" While I agree with both sides in this circumstance, I think this leads to a bigger issue that can be debated on both sides.