Restricted IVs for Pokemon we're not sure about.

cim

happiness is such hard work
is a Contributor Alumnusis a Smogon Media Contributor Alumnus
There are a significant number of Pokemon on Shoddy Battle with restricted IV combinations that use RNGs we haven't fully researched. The most notable example is Jirachi, who comes mainly from Colloseum's bonus disk which could use a completely different RNG altogether. Is there any particular reason Pokemon like this are restricted? "Better safe than sorry", or are we just assuming they probably have similar characteristics as everyone else?

While I am no expert, I think the RNG is the same as in other games, just with different starting seeds, etc. So the IV combo are the same, just manipulating it is different. Not sure about that, but it seems logical

cim

Colloseum bonus disk isn't a game and I know it has not been researched.

Also, we don't know how the RNG works for distributed event Pokemon from before the era of DP Mystery Gift. If it were up to me, I would assume anything goes until we know otherwise for sure, but this is somewhat pedantic. I'm mostly interested in the current official rationale for such decisions.

It is to do with PID/IV creation. This makes certain IV's illegal with certain natures. As for the Jirachi event, I can only assume IVs are generated in the same way as every captured Pokemon.

cim

It is to do with PID/IV creation. This makes certain IV's illegal with certain natures. As for the Jirachi event, I can only assume IVs are generated in the same way as every captured Pokemon.
I know that. I am asking if that's the assumption made, and in general questioning whether or not that is a strong one.

Sorry for the rapid fire posts, I should be more clear in my OPs from now on.

Jibaku

Who let marco in here????