Pokémon Thundurus-I

Status
Not open for further replies.
Is thundurus-I generally considered to outclass -T?

Looking at the bases it seems that -T would be better with the NP set, as it has the same (lack of) bulk and still a pretty trolly speed tier, sitting above all the base 100s, but a much nicer SpA. Or is that extra 10 base speed important to out-speed too many key pokemon? They both get out run by priority anyway. (I'm still pretty new to competitive so admit I might just be being blinded by the higher SpA and missing something here.)

Edit: And Volt absorb can help cancel out SR damage if you predict a switch into Rotom's Volt Turn. (Though Rotom is usually pretty bulky, so I'm not certain you'd WANT to trap him in and take a Hydro Pump/Overheat.)

Last edited:
Is thundurus-I generally considered to outclass -T?

Looking at the bases it seems that -T would be better with the NP set, as it has the same (lack of) bulk and still a pretty trolly speed tier, sitting above all the base 100s, but a much nicer SpA. Or is that extra 10 base speed important to out-speed too many key pokemon? They both get out run by priority anyway. (I'm still pretty new to competitive so admit I might just be being blinded by the higher SpA and missing something here.)
Priority is the key word there. It was Prankster Thunder Wave that earned him a one-way ticket to Ubers last gen (well, he came back to visit OU once and was promptly booted again), on top of Prankster Taunt, blazing speed, and heavy offensive power. As a pure, double dancing sweeper, Thundy-T fits the role better, but Thundy-I has greater versatility and general utility on a team imo. Thundy-I saves lives, when that opposing Dragon Dancing sweeper starts to get out of hand.