Metagame On The Ubers Radar

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello there, a long time passed since my intial post and as I am one of the players that argued to preserve Dynamax as a mechanic I will try to elaborate on why and how we should keep it.
Let’s start with the pros for the metagame that dynamax has once we remove the big threats:
1) A lot of Pokémon are able to blanket check some really dangerous threats late game by dynamaxing without losing momentum or being forced to run multiple checks for some cores that otherwise overlap (zacianc+any physical attacker for example) , this makes the game somewhat less matchup dependant and allows the better user to gain a real advantage in the long term.
2) Offensive pressure: Excadrill, Hatterne, Charizard, Gyarados but also some other mons that are less used can break defensive cores thanks to dynamax especially late game, so by no means is dynamax only defensive or slows down the meta.
As pre home showed, the meta was balanced and a lot of playstyles were viable , so it’s not really a broken ability in itself.

Now why am I opposed to a clean ban of dynamax as it is, to just have a retest post dlc? Altough there were some holes on how to preserve dynamax in the first posts we can all (or nearly all) agree that this mechanic isn’t broken or unhealthy. If we outright ban it now, it will make things even harder to retest properly later cause we will have at least 5 broken ou or lower tiered mons that can abuse it plus the last uber mons that will come in dlc2. This will make retesting even harder because it will be just pure theorizing. Even worse the time in a suspect test to build and really test the problems would be limited after losing 6 months of building with the dynamax mechanic. The vote would be totally unbalanced because new players would have a very hard time adapting to dynamax.

Now how can we preserve the mechanic while respecting the definition of the tier as much as possible?