VGC 2011 rules up!

Status
Not open for further replies.

jrrrrrrr

wubwubwub
is a Forum Moderator Alumnusis a Tiering Contributor Alumnusis a Top Contributor Alumnusis a Battle Simulator Moderator Alumnus
This would be like Nintendo saying "200 doubles is our standard metagame" during the Advance generation. It's certainly an interesting decision. This could turn out to be a sweet metagame, I really loved 200 when I started playing Advance. No move tutors, almost no Stealth Rock (although doubles teams don't usually run this), hardly any walls, it's too bad that they limited themselves to like 40 viable pokemon from the start though.

We might even see teams using Sandstorm (the move) like doubles teams used to use Rain Dance. No Sand Stream pokemon exist in Isshu, but Doryuuzu does. And it gets EQ and Rock Slide, effective moves in doubles. There also isn't much incentive to use any other weather, since only two pokemon get Swift Swim in Isshu (one through DW) and Sun has never really been great. This whole metagame is going to be Doryuuzu + Roobushin.

mattj

blatant Nintendo fanboy
Well, first of all, I'm overjoyed that we finally have rules so I know what to RNG now. :) And I like the idea of a fresh new metagame (you called it Andreuy). However, I'm a bit concerned about how centralized this metagame could turn out to be. Last year we had what, 490ish mons to choose from. Take away the banned mons, and 95% of NFE mons and you get... 200ish (just off the top of my head). I just did a quick count, and excluding this years banned and NFE mons (most aren't useful) we only have around 75 to choose from.

seventy
five
:(