1. New to the forums? Check out our Mentorship Program!
    Our mentors will answer your questions and help you become a part of the community!
  2. Welcome to Smogon Forums! Please take a minute to read the rules.

B&W Research Thread

Discussion in 'BW Competitive Discussion' started by ΩDonut, Sep 21, 2010.

  1. Mari

    Mari

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Messages:
    191
    I have a few questions:

    1) Given the fact: Color Change does not activate if hit by a Sheer Force user

    Does Color Change activate if the used move has no secondary effect? If no, a) is the move boosted then and/or b) is Life Orb recoil prevented?

    2) What does happen in a 2on2 battle, if Mirror Move is used on at a partner which used Acupressure a) on itself b) on its partner?
  2. Spirit

    Spirit
    is a Community Contributoris a Contributor to Smogonis a Tiering Contributor Alumnus

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2013
    Messages:
    1,153
    Yes, assuming it's an attacking move.



    Life Orb recoil is only prevented if a move has a secondary effect that doesn't always happen. For example, a sheer force mon using Ice beam would not take LO recoil b/c of the 10% chance freeze rate. However, the same thing would not apply to a move like frost breath, which always gets a crit and therefor is not boosted by sheer force and will face a subsequent Life Orb recoil.

    This question is a little vague, but here goes. If you use mirror move on your teammate that is using acupressure, the Pokemon using mirror move will be able to use acupressure just like its teammate. For mirror move to activate in this case, the Pokemon using mirror move will have to be slower than its teammate or acupressure will have to be used the previous turn (if it's faster) for it to work. Mirror move basically copies the last move the target uses. Hope this helps.
  3. Mari

    Mari

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Messages:
    191
    I ask because Acupressure can be used as a boosting move like Swords Dance but also to boost your partner (like Helping Hand) - but not your opponent (like Heal Pulse). But which effect will be copied? Mirror Move cannot target yourself.
  4. Spirit

    Spirit
    is a Community Contributoris a Contributor to Smogonis a Tiering Contributor Alumnus

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2013
    Messages:
    1,153
    If the mirror move mon uses acupressure, it actually uses the move on itself. There really is no way it can use it on another target as far as I'm aware of, teammate or otherwise. It's kind of like how heal pulse can't be copied by mirror move, because the move works on everything but the user and there's no way to control the direction of the attack. The reason why acupressure works is because you can use it on yourself, heal pulse fails because you can only use it on a target. The current mechanics for Mirror Move doesn't allow that kind of degree of manipulation where you can just pick and choose where the attack goes. Does this make sense?
  5. Marty D

    Marty D Bug Catcher
    is a Battle Server Admin Alumnusis a Forum Moderator Alumnusis a Researcher Alumnus

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012
    Messages:
    146
    1. A Sheer Force user's move has to be boosted by Sheer Force for any additional effects to be negated. If the move is boosted, the target's Color Change, Red Card, Eject Button, and/or Pickpocket won't activate, as well as the user's Life Orb recoil or Shell Bell recovery. If the move is not boosted, all of those effects can take place as normal.

    So yes, Color Change will activate if the move has no secondary effect.


    2. Acupressure can't be copied by Mirror Move. Related: Mirror Move can't copy any self-targeting move.
  6. poccil

    poccil
    is a Researcher Alumnus

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Messages:
    400
    Mental Herb also removes the effect of Heal Block. My description for Mental Herb now says:

  7. Bologo

    Bologo Have fun with birds and bees.
    is a Contributor Alumnus

    Joined:
    May 7, 2006
    Messages:
    2,841
    Hey, I have a question about Custap Berry. Basically, it involves Custap Berry with the use of Harvest, and Fly.

    I was trying out Tropius on Pokemon Showdown, because I had this theory that if you're under 25% and you use Custap Berry, your Custap Berry would be eaten on the first turn of Fly, making you fly up before the opponent could attack you. Then, on the second turn, I figured that you'd come down with your regular Speed (no Custap), since the 2 turns of Fly are technically just one attack since it only uses 1 PP. Then, I figured that with Harvest and Sun, I'd get my Custap Berry back and be able to do it again, essentially using Fly without being touched.

    However, it did not work that way on Pokemon Showdown. The first turn, Tropius ate its Custap Berry and flew up as normal, but then in the second turn, it ate another Custap Berry (which it got due to Harvest), and then flew down first, therefore eating 2 Custap Berries in one move.

    I'm just wondering, is that the way Custap Berry + Harvest + Fly is supposed to work in-game? It just seems very strange that Tropius would eat 2 Custap Berries in one use of Fly.
  8. poccil

    poccil
    is a Researcher Alumnus

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Messages:
    400
    Yes, that's what is supposed to happen. My description for Custap Berry says:

    "If holder has 1/4 of its maximum HP or less and holder is holding this item after commands are chosen but before Pokémon are switched out, this item is consumed and holder strikes before all other Pokémon whose moves have equal or lower priority than holder’s move this turn."

    Because Tropius had low HP and was holding a Custap Berry after each turn started, it could use that berry during both turns, even in the middle of a two-turn attack like Fly. However, after Fly ends, Tropius will get the Custap Berry back (assuming it's still in battle and the sun continues by then).
    Last edited: Sep 3, 2013
    Bologo likes this.
  9. Hebrew

    Hebrew

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Tyranitar can learn power-up punch
  10. Dorocche

    Dorocche

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    If a Multiscale Pokemon gets a substitute up and retains full health, will the opposing Pokemon have to take the equivalent of half of the Multiscale pokemon's health? Simply put, does a substitute get the benefits of Multiscale?
  11. Bedschibaer

    Bedschibaer does it for free
    is a Forum Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2013
    Messages:
    449
    yes, your substitute is basically twice as durable when the multiscale is up.

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)