1. Welcome to Smogon! Check out the Smogon Starters Hangout for everything you need to know about starting out in the community. Don't forget to introduce yourself in the Introduction and Hangout Thread, too!
  2. Welcome to Smogon Forums! Please take a minute to read the rules.

B&W Research Thread

Discussion in 'BW Competitive Discussion' started by ΩDonut, Sep 21, 2010.

  1. poccil

    poccil
    is a Researcher Alumnus

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Messages:
    400
    UltiMario:

    I tested this. In this case, the Will-O-Wisp would be redirected to its user rather than absorbed by Flash Fire, making Magic Coat take precedence over Flash Fire. However, if the original user of Will-O-Wisp has Flash Fire, it could absorb the attack as normal with that Ability: "Whenever a Fire-type attack by another Pokémon targets bearer..." since the redirected attack is an attack by Porygon2 against Rotom.

    See my timing page, section "Targeting" for more:

  2. Marty D

    Marty D Bug Catcher
    is a Battle Server Admin Alumnusis a Forum Moderator Alumnusis a Researcher Alumnus

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012
    Messages:
    161
    This isn't actually relevant to normal gameplay, but is very interesting mechanics-wise.

    The other day, someone on Pokemon Showdown! was wondering if a Transformed Chansey holding Eviolite would still receive the Eviolite boosts. I figured it was worth a test since Transform no longer copies species, so here are the results:

    Code:
    Porygon2 has 147 Defense
    Rampardos is Level 100 with 429 Attack, 140 Defense, 138 Sp. Atk, 126 Sp. Def
    
    Rampardos using Pound on Eviolite Chansey Transformed into Porygon2 - 57, 65
    Rampardos using Pound on Chansey Transformed into Porygon2 - 86, 97
    
    Rampardos using Pound on Eviolite Chansey Transformed into Rampardos - 31, 34
    Rampardos using Pound on Chansey Transformed into Rampardos - 48, 49
    So yes, Eviolite continues working after Transform. Then I thought maybe Ditto could be the only Pokemon that has its species-dependent items lose their effect after Transforming.

    Code:
    Latios and Marowak are both Level 100; the Rampardos is the same as above.
    
    Rampardos using Dragon Pulse on Soul Dew Latios Transformed into Rampardos - 52
    Soul Dew Latios Transformed into Rampardos using Dragon Pulse on Rampardos - 117
    
    Rampardos using Dragon Pulse on Latios Transformed into Rampardos - 73
    Latios Transformed into Rampardos using Dragon Pulse on Rampardos - 82
    
    Thick Club Marowak Transformed into Rampardos using Pound on Rampardos - 100
    Rampardos using Pound on Thick Club Marowak Transformed into Rampardos - 49
    It seems that Game Freak did something specific to Ditto and/or Metal Powder and Quick Powder, since they do not work when Ditto is Transformed. I don't have the time (or the will, really) to go through the other eight or so species-dependent items right now, but based on these results I'm pretty confident they will still apply as well. I'll probably come back to this eventually, though.
  3. V4Victini

    V4Victini Free Ohmagod
    is a Battle Server Administratoris a Smogon IRC AOPis a Programmeris a Forum Moderatoris a Pokemon Researcher
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    Messages:
    943
    It also appears that Stick and, I would assume because Stick didn't work, Lucky Punch are lumped in with Ditto's items. There effect seems to go away when you Transform as well. (Freezing RNG Seed caused a crit as Farfetch'd yet not when Transformed into Timburr)
    *see below*

    -EDIT- Also tested Light Ball
    Code:
    Latios is Level 84;
    
    Transformed Pikachu (Latios) using Round on Latios - 26 Without Light Ball
    Transformed Pikachu (Latios) using Round on Latios - 51 With Light Ball (Obtained post transformation)
    
  4. poccil

    poccil
    is a Researcher Alumnus

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Messages:
    400
    V4Victini:

    Round is a poor choice to test the effect on, since its power is increased when it's used on consecutive turns.
  5. MB Espeon

    MB Espeon

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    350
    Er, Poccil, I think you're thinking of Echoed Voice. Round is the move that doubles damage if multiple party members on the same side use it on the same turn, while Echoed Voice is the does-more-damage-next-consecutive-turn move. So unless this is a double battle and both of them are using round, then it's no big deal either way.

    ...so did they both use Round or not? Seeing as if that varied it'd skew results, yeah.
  6. V4Victini

    V4Victini Free Ohmagod
    is a Battle Server Administratoris a Smogon IRC AOPis a Programmeris a Forum Moderatoris a Pokemon Researcher
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    Messages:
    943
    yea Echoed Voice increases per turn. They didnt both use Round, Latios used Recover and Pikachu used Round.

    -EDIT- Tested the rest of items (Lucky Punch, DeepSea*) and they all work. Went back to check Stick and it turns out since I used Aerial Ace it skipped the accuracy check which was causing the crit v_v. Set the seed back 1 and turns out Stick and Lucky Punch do keep their effects through Transformation. Oops >.> This time I used Return to test the crits on both Pokemon.
  7. alexwolf

    alexwolf Fear the D
    is a Forum Moderatoris a Community Contributoris a Tiering Contributoris a Contributor to Smogon
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2009
    Messages:
    7,209
    Does Skill Swap work through Substitute?
  8. Hozu

    Hozu RNGenius
    is a Contributor to Smogon

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,423
  9. Princess Bubblegum

    Princess Bubblegum

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Messages:
    2,983
    On the note of skill swap, does the badly poison counter still add up if something has poison heal?

    I ask this because I was playing with skill swap on Showdown, a porygon2 traced my Gliscor's poison heal, got poisoned, then I skill swapped the ability away, and the porygon 2 lost like 90% of its health due to poison in one turn (it was a ton of turns later). Just wondering if this is what happens in game.
  10. RBG

    RBG Got a long list of ex-lovers, they'll tell you I'm insane.
    is a Smogon Social Media Contributoris a Super Moderatoris a Site Staff Alumnusis a Smogon IRC AOp Alumnusis a Researcher Alumnusis a Tiering Contributor Alumnusis a Battle Server Moderator Alumnus
    Facebook Manager

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,369
    It worked that way in Gen IV, but I can't say anything about Gen V.
  11. poccil

    poccil
    is a Researcher Alumnus

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Messages:
    400
    RBG*:

    It also works that way in Black and White versions, as I've tested now: "If bearer is poisoned, bearer gains 1/8 of its maximum HP at the end of each turn instead of losing HP because of poison. " There are two things that happen when a Pokemon is badly poisoned: "At the end of each turn, if the Pokémon is badly poisoned, T increases by 1 (up to a maximum of 15) and the Pokémon loses 1/16 of its maximum HP, rounded down, times T." Poison Heal affects only the HP loss portion of this method.
  12. Hozu

    Hozu RNGenius
    is a Contributor to Smogon

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,423
    Heard about something interesting and did some further testing. Apparently you can get a Pokémon with a different language default name than the Pokémon's region by tripping the GTS name filter. My tests:

    EN Froslass named "Froslass" on GTS in EN White - blocked
    EN Froslass named "Froslass" on GTS in JP White and White 2 - allowed, renamed to default JP name
    JP Poochyena named "ペニス" on GTS in EN White - allowed, renamed to default EN name
    JP Poochyena named "ペニス" on GTS in JP White and White 2 - allowed, renamed to default JP name

    In all cases the OT was set to "Shiro*"/"ホワイト." if it was renamed. Presumably the OT will be renamed their counterpart from Black.

    Note that in 5th gen I was unable to name a Pokémon "ペニス" (means penis), and if I tried adding characters after it the name wasn't censored. If there is a name that is allowed to be entered when giving it a nickname but is blocked by the GTS please post it.
  13. poccil

    poccil
    is a Researcher Alumnus

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Messages:
    400
    There are several things I would like help on regarding battle mechanics. If you can help, go to this page, which I've just added today.

    http://upokecenter.dreamhosters.com/articles/to-do-list/

    Your comments will help improve the accuracy of my move, item, and Ability descriptions, and the rest of my in-depth guides.

    (If it's okay, I will also create a separate thread on this.)
  14. Oglemi

    Oglemi QUOTE DATABASE SLAYER, TIK SLAYER, going down the list
    is a Tournament Directoris a member of the Site Staffis a Community Contributoris a Pokemon Researcheris a Contributor to Smogonis a Smogon Media Contributoris an Administratoris a Tiering Contributor Alumnus
    C&C Leader

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    9,244
    Can Copycat select Circle Throw and Dragon Tail?

    (there's been a lot of confusion lately, just to clear it up)
  15. MikeDecIsHere

    MikeDecIsHere And the haters gonna hate hate hate hate hate.
    is a Smogon Social Media Contributor Alumnusis a Forum Moderator Alumnusis a Battle Server Moderator Alumnus

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2,610
    No, Copycat cannot copy Circle Throw or Dragon Tail
  16. david stone

    david stone Fast-moving, smart, sexy and alarming.
    is a Site Staff Alumnusis a Smogon IRC AOp Alumnusis a Programmer Alumnusis a Super Moderator Alumnusis a Researcher Alumnusis a Contributor Alumnusis a Battle Server Moderator Alumnus

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2005
    Messages:
    5,150
    Is Struggle boosted by the held item Metronome?
  17. lati0s

    lati0s

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,492
    I didn't see this on the first page and no one answered me in the simple question simple answer thread.


    What is the proper interaction when a pokemon holding a life orb attacks into a pokemon holding a red card. On showdown the life orb recoil did not occur. This was unexpected to me so I was wondering if the same thing happens in game.
  18. Wichu

    Wichu ACUPRESSURE
    is a Pokemon Researcher

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,546
    Something interesting happened to me when I was fighting the Champion in White 2:

    Bidoof used Substitute!
    The foe's Hydreigon used Struggle!
    Bidoof's Substitute took the hit!

    (I select Rollout)
    Bidoof used Rollout!
    The foe's Hydreigon used Struggle!
    Bidoof's Substitute took the hit!

    (Rollout continues)
    Bidoof used Rollout!
    The foe's Hydreigon fainted!
    Champion sent out Druddigon!

    (Rollout continues)
    Bidoof used Rollout!
    The foe's Druddigon fainted!
    Champion sent out Aggron!

    (Rollout continues)
    Bidoof used Rollout!
    The foe's Aggron used Autotomize!
    Its Speed sharply rose!

    (Rollout continues)
    Bidoof used Rollout!
    The foe's Aggron fainted!
    Champion sent out Lapras!

    (Rollout continues)
    Bidoof used Rollout!
    The foe's Lapras fainted!

    (Rollout stops)

    So, yeah. What's up with Rollout hitting six times rather than five? I'd used Defense Curl earlier to boost Rollout's power.
  19. Present

    Present

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2012
    Messages:
    344
    Just wanted to know how this works ingame: When both pokemon on the battle field have magic bounce, and one uses toxic, the opponent's ability will bounce it back. Will toxic then fail afterwards, or will the user of toxic get poisoned, despite his own magic bounce. I am mainly asking because that happened on the simulator (toxic got bounced back and poisoned me), so I would first like to check before posting about it.
  20. poccil

    poccil
    is a Researcher Alumnus

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Messages:
    400
    Present:

    In that case, the user of Toxic will be poisoned. The user's Magic Bounce is ignored here because Toxic is already being bounced back. See my Ability list.
  21. Hozu

    Hozu RNGenius
    is a Contributor to Smogon

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,423
    In doubles or triples if you have a Storm Drain mon and another mon uses Water spout then Storm Drain does NOT affect Water Spout.

    Surprised that behaviour wasn't already noted in this thread...
  22. poccil

    poccil
    is a Researcher Alumnus

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Messages:
    400
    Hozu:

    But only insofar as that Ability does not change the target of Water Spout, since Water Spout has the range "all opposing Pokémon" rather than "single Pokémon except user": "Water-type attacks ... by other Pokémon with a range of 'single Pokémon except user' that could target this Pokémon are directed to this Pokémon instead of to any other target of that attack." Moreover, even Water Spout is affected by Storm Drain when the attack's range does include the Pokémon with that Ability: "Whenever a Water-type attack ... by another Pokémon targets this Pokémon [etc.], this Pokémon's Special Attack is raised by 1 stage [etc.]."
  23. RBG

    RBG Got a long list of ex-lovers, they'll tell you I'm insane.
    is a Smogon Social Media Contributoris a Super Moderatoris a Site Staff Alumnusis a Smogon IRC AOp Alumnusis a Researcher Alumnusis a Tiering Contributor Alumnusis a Battle Server Moderator Alumnus
    Facebook Manager

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,369
    From the Gen IV research thread (that never got answered)

    Just wondering if anyone knows of what specifically triggered it and if it is in Gen V or not.
  24. AJC

    AJC

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2005
    Messages:
    2,273
    abilities and moves that redirect a attack do not have the redirect function working if the attack strikes more than one mon.

    they still give their immunity/absorb function if they do so.

    Water spout is a all enemy targeted attack as such it ignores the redirect effect of storm drain.
  25. Joel

    Joel

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,203
    Correct, but to also add, the SpAtk boost for the Pokemon with Storm Drain ability still triggers, and gets it's boost. All other Pokemon will be damaged normally.

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)