1. New to the forums? Check out our Mentorship Program!
    Our mentors will answer your questions and help you become a part of the community!
  2. Welcome to Smogon Forums! Please take a minute to read the rules.

DP Research Thread #6 (Even newer)

Discussion in 'Ruins of Alph' started by Cathy, Aug 18, 2009.

  1. franky

    franky
    is a Team Rater Alumnusis a Forum Moderator Alumnusis a Contributor Alumnus

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,486
    3.0 Hail, Rain, Sandstorm, or Sun message "pokémon is buffeted by the Hail!", "the pokémon is buffeted by the Sandstorm", "Rain continues to fall!", "The sunlight is strong."

    6.13 Taunt wears off "Pokémon's taunt wore off!"


    9.0 Trick Room "pokémon restored the dimensions!" (after using it twice in a row), "the twisted dimension turned to normal!" (after 5 turns)

    Add these ones I researched. Also did using trick room twice in a row on d/p restored dimensioned like it did on platinum?
  2. Cathy

    Cathy

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,062
    The goal was to research the order of the effects, not the messages. That said, I didn't know Trick Room had two different ending messages. (The actual goal of finding the end of turn effects is complete now.)
  3. h0llygh0st

    h0llygh0st

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    They have 2 different ending messages because it can end on 2 different ways, another pokemon can use Trick Room which cancels eachother out or you can wait 5 turns untill the effect stops.
  4. gvmgvm40

    gvmgvm40 formerly Plopper

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Messages:
    479
    I wonder, can you BP Focus Energy?
  5. RBG

    RBG But I keep cruising, can't stop, won't stop grooving.
    is a Smogon Social Media Contributoris a Super Moderatoris a Site Staff Alumnusis a Smogon IRC AOp Alumnusis a Researcher Alumnusis a Tiering Contributor Alumnusis a Battle Server Moderator Alumnus
    Facebook Manager

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,350
    Yes, use the Simple Question Simple Answer thread for this, or check the Baton Pass and Focus energy pages on the site.
  6. eric the espeon

    eric the espeon maybe I just misunderstood
    is a Forum Moderator Alumnusis a Researcher Alumnusis a CAP Contributor Alumnusis a Tiering Contributor Alumnusis a Contributor Alumnus

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,694
    Not the most important, but not too hard: Could someone test the boost to water moves provided by Sea Incense?
    Smogon has it listed as 20% like most other type boosting items, but both Serebii and Bulbapedia list it as 5% which would be consistent with some other Incenses (Lax gives +5% Evasion), and avoids having two insences with exactly the same effect.
  7. iss

    iss happily ever after
    is a Forum Moderator Alumnusis a Contributor Alumnus

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Messages:
    2,093
    Hmm, just discovered something weird with U-turn and Choice Items. This was in Pearl Doubles Battle Tower.

    So anyways, I have Moltres, Azelf, and Milotic left. Moltres and Azelf both know U-turn, but only Moltres has a Choice item (Choice Scarf). The AI has Grumpig and Wigglytuff out (final Pokemon:I KOed the rest already).
    I have Milotic and Moltres out.

    Moltres used U-turn on Grumpig (60%-ish damage)
    Switched to Azelf
    Grumpig used Psychic on Azelf (minimal damage)
    Milotic used Recover
    Wigglytuff used Sing
    Milotic fell asleep
    --------------------
    Azelf used U-turn on Grumpig
    Switched to Moltres
    Grumpig fainted (this is normal for U-turn)
    Milotic is fast asleep
    Wigglytuff used Dream Eater on Milotic (minimal damage)
    Wigglytuff regained HP (or whatever it says)
    --------------------
    And then this is the weird part. I click Overheat on Moltres, and I get this message:

    "The Choice Scarf allows only the usage of U-turn!" (or something like that, I can't remenber exactly, but it's the usual message when you try selecting a un-Choiced move on a Choiced pokemon.

    Odd, because I U-turned out before U-turning back in. Has this happened to anyone before?
  8. RBG

    RBG But I keep cruising, can't stop, won't stop grooving.
    is a Smogon Social Media Contributoris a Super Moderatoris a Site Staff Alumnusis a Smogon IRC AOp Alumnusis a Researcher Alumnusis a Tiering Contributor Alumnusis a Battle Server Moderator Alumnus
    Facebook Manager

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,350
    This is a known glitch to exist in Diamond/Pearl that is not in Platinum.
  9. DrDimentio

    DrDimentio

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2009
    Messages:
    173
    I got told to ask this here by someone in the Simple Questions thread, where they were unsure of the answer, and thought maybe someone could research it:

    If Arceus holding Sky Plate (therefore pure Flying-type) uses Gravity, what happens to its typing? Does it get removed?

    Sorry if this isn't relevant or something... the Simple Questions people were kinda stumped by it.
  10. Intro1827

    Intro1827

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    255
    Gravity only removes Ground immunity
  11. Lord Jesseus

    Lord Jesseus

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,008
    If I recall correctly, Gravity doesn't remove the flying type, just the ground immunity. Roost on the other hand, I think someone tested that and it was found to take neutral hit from everything.
  12. YoshiX

    YoshiX

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Messages:
    320
    What if smeargle uses conversion, becomes a flying type, and then uses roost?
  13. RBG

    RBG But I keep cruising, can't stop, won't stop grooving.
    is a Smogon Social Media Contributoris a Super Moderatoris a Site Staff Alumnusis a Smogon IRC AOp Alumnusis a Researcher Alumnusis a Tiering Contributor Alumnusis a Battle Server Moderator Alumnus
    Facebook Manager

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,350
    Simple Question, Simple Answer Thread

    It takes neutral from everything.
  14. david stone

    david stone Fast-moving, smart, sexy and alarming.
    is a Site Staff Alumnusis a Smogon IRC AOp Alumnusis a Programmer Alumnusis a Super Moderator Alumnusis a Researcher Alumnusis a Contributor Alumnusis a Battle Server Moderator Alumnus

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2005
    Messages:
    5,150
    Imagine a Pokemon with two moves:

    Sleep Talk
    Last Resort

    If the Pokemon is put to sleep turn 1 (by a faster Spore, for instance) and then uses Sleep Talk, Sleep Talk will obviously select Last Resort. At the time Last Resort has executed, all other moves will have been selected at least once. Will Last Resort fail or succeed?
  15. Sudo

    Sudo

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    801
    I tested this using a version of Pokemon Pearl, using two Lv. 40 Smeargle: S1 had Spore, S2 had only Sleep Talk and Last Resort.

    Double battle at the Restaurant:

    S1 Used Spore! S2 fell asleep!
    S2 used Sleep Talk! It failed!

    Successive turns of using Sleep Talk while asleep also failed.
  16. david stone

    david stone Fast-moving, smart, sexy and alarming.
    is a Site Staff Alumnusis a Smogon IRC AOp Alumnusis a Programmer Alumnusis a Super Moderator Alumnusis a Researcher Alumnusis a Contributor Alumnusis a Battle Server Moderator Alumnus

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2005
    Messages:
    5,150
    That's interesting. Is it ever possible to successfully Sleep Talk Last Resort?
  17. supermarth64

    supermarth64 Here I stand in the light of day
    is a Contributor Alumnus

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,438
    Maybe if you use Sleep Talk, wake up, Last Resort, then get put back to sleep and try Sleep Talking.

    I don't have my DS, so I can't test this out.
  18. Cathy

    Cathy

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,062
    My prediction is that when Last Resort checks for "all other moves" having been used, the one it doesn't check is the one you selected (i.e. Sleep Talk in this case). To verify this, first use Last Resort while awake. Then, get put asleep, and use Sleep Talk. Does Last Resort work?
  19. Haunter

    Haunter 100% avocado
    is an official Team Rateris a Battle Server Administratoris a Community Contributoris a Tiering Contributoris an Administratoris a Tutor Alumnus
    Líder máximo

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Messages:
    5,754
    Just did this test:

    first turn I tried to use last resort as my first move (my Ambipom only had last resort and sleep talk) and the move failed (with Ambipom still awake)

    on the second turn (with Ambipom still awake) I used sleep talk (which obviously failed)

    on the 3rd turn (with Ambipom still awake) I used last resort and the move worked

    on the 4th turn I put Ambipom to sleep and used sleep talk, and sleep talk selected and used successfully last resort.

    So, apparently you're right Colin.
  20. david stone

    david stone Fast-moving, smart, sexy and alarming.
    is a Site Staff Alumnusis a Smogon IRC AOp Alumnusis a Programmer Alumnusis a Super Moderator Alumnusis a Researcher Alumnusis a Contributor Alumnusis a Battle Server Moderator Alumnus

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2005
    Messages:
    5,150
    That test doesn't exactly test it. It's possible, although not likely, that Last Resort could fail the first turn you're using Sleep Talk. As in, Last Resort first turn, next turn Sleep Talk while asleep, and then see if Last Resort works.
  21. ΩDonut

    ΩDonut don't glaze me bro
    is a Programmeris a Forum Moderatoris a Community Contributoris a Pokemon Researcheris a Contributor to Smogon
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,727
    What if Sleep Talk is your first move (while asleep), and it selects Last Resort?
  22. Haunter

    Haunter 100% avocado
    is an official Team Rateris a Battle Server Administratoris a Community Contributoris a Tiering Contributoris an Administratoris a Tutor Alumnus
    Líder máximo

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Messages:
    5,754
    Tested again:

    1st turn: Ambipom (awake) used last resort, the move failed;

    2nd turn: Ambipom (asleep) used sleep talk, Ambipom selected and used successfully last resort.

    1st turn: Ambipom (asleep) used sleep talk, Ambipom selected and used successfully last resort.

    I made both the tests on my Pearl cartridge.
  23. zorbees

    zorbees
    is a Forum Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2,268
    Erm, something doesn't add up.
  24. The 198

    The 198

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    65
    Well on the topic of last resort, how exact does last resort check if all the moves are used?? Does it see if you've selected, move1, move2, etc. before using last resort, or does it check if the other moves you have access to have been used by the last resort pokemon??

    Do you have to select all the other moves successfully in order to use last resort?? Example, Could you use hypnosis, fail, then use last resort (if you only had those 2 moves)

    Or could assist or mirrormove another move you already have, then use last resort?? Example, you had a smeargle with Assist, Last resort, and Seedbomb (just as an example), if assist picked seed bomb off another poke could you use last resort on the next turn?

    Another one, if you had a poke with u-turn, and u-turned into another poke with only u-turn and last resort, could you use last resort the following turn?? I think this might work in D/P but not Pt.
  25. Cathy

    Cathy

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,062
    One of Sudo or Haunter's results has to be wrong, so I'd like them to comment on that.

    It's based on whether you've used the move, not whether you've selected it. Also, the mechanic of U-turning to a pokemon counting as an execution of U-turn by the pokemon who is sent in is still in Platinum (see, e.g., Disable). What was changed in Platinum was that Choice Items reset their locks when using U-turn now; the mechanics of U-turn were not changed in this regard.

    Anyway, before we decide what to test next (if anything) with Last Resort, we need to know which one of Sudo and Haunter was wrong. Of course, a third person is free to do the original test described in Obi's post as well:

    Please post your result for this test to clear up the discrepancy.

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)