DP Research Thread #6 (Even newer)

Discussion in 'Ruins of Alph' started by Cathy, Aug 18, 2009.

  1. Cuiv

    Cuiv

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    182
    I don't see Bone Rush Remoraid on there. Bulbapedia claims Stun Spore rather than Thunderbolt on Tangela (makes a lot more sense) and Haze rather than Swords Dance on Murkrow (either could work). Also, Serebii claims Leech Seed on Machop, but Bulbapedia claims the much more reasonable Leer.
  2. Death Phenomeno

    Death Phenomeno I'm polite so just for clarity, when I'm cross I
    is a Contributor to Smogon

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Messages:
    879
    I've got a couple of questions:


    1. If a Technician user uses a move that does reduced damage in a Double Battle, does the Technician bonus apply?
    2. Maybe I'm missing something completely obvious here, but why exactly does Counter fail in this video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bAn34IJfCuo
  3. Jibaku

    Jibaku Not taking FS requests atm.
    is a Forum Moderatoris a Smogon IRC SOPis a Team Rater Alumnusis a Super Moderator Alumnusis a CAP Contributor Alumnusis a Smogon Media Contributor Alumnusis a Tiering Contributor Alumnusis a Contributor Alumnusis a Past SPL Winner
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2005
    Messages:
    6,086
    Counter only counters the second hit of a multi hit move. In that video, the first Bonemerang was able to put Houndoom down to 1 HP (Focus Sash), and the second hit did no damage, and because it did no damage Counter failed.
  4. eric the espeon

    eric the espeon maybe I just misunderstood
    is a Forum Moderator Alumnusis a CAP Contributor Alumnusis a Researcher Alumnusis a Tiering Contributor Alumnusis a Contributor Alumnus

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,698
    For the HG/SS Items update, there are a couple of things that need checking before I have all the info needed. First, How Heavy Ball affects the Catch formula. Smogon's GS page implies that the boost against heavy Pokemon is a simple multiplication, which is contrary to everything else I have found. Serebii suggests the following:
    If the Pokémon is Less than 220lbs then -20, Between 220lbs & 440lbs then +0, Between 440lbs & 660lbs then +20, Higher than 660lbs + 30 -20, +0,
    +20, +30
    While Bulbapedia suggests:
    Between 100kg* and 200kg*: +0
    Between 200kg* and 300kg*: +20
    More than 300kg*: +30
    Under 100kg*: -30

    The weights are the same (just different units), but for under 100kg they disagree on how much is taken from the catch rate.

    Next, what on earth is the Rock Capsule? A few places mention it, and I've seen the sprite, but other than a load of uneducated guesses and random conflicting theories.. almost nothing. Even Bulbapedia does not have a page for it. Seems likely its a wi-fi event item of some kind, but that does not help much. I could put up a description of "Unknown", but surely someone here can find a bit more info than that. Hex is 0x0215 according to bulbapedia's item list, and only in HGSS.

    And a minor point, if someone could hack a Rule Book (hex: 0x01AE) in DPP and see exactly what it does/says it would be nice.
  5. Zog

    Zog

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    934
    It does nothing, from what I've tried. I think it just has a sprite and description, like the seal bag/red chain/magma rock etc.
  6. 0n1l1nk.

    0n1l1nk.

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    106
    What do you mean by "Rage ending unapplies" & "Rage ending does not unapply"?, in the first post?
  7. Purimpopoie

    Purimpopoie

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    359
    It's not listed on the main Smogon Page, but I just did some testing with Shadow Force. We all know that Shadow Force hits through Protect/Detect, but did you also know it cancels the effect of the move, like Feint does?

    Unfortunately, I don't have proof (I tested on my Platinum card in Cafe). Giratina hit Cressy with Shadow Force, then the Aipom hit Cressy with Swift. If someone else wants to confirm, they can. Or I could get another DS and show proof with a Platinum Battle Video.. should I do that?
  8. MegaMewtwo

    MegaMewtwo

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Messages:
    2,399
    I would've thought that was common knowledge actually. The game says that it breaks through Protect/Detect, just like it says for Feint.
  9. Purimpopoie

    Purimpopoie

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    359
    Most websites just say it passes through it. Compare the descriptions on Smogon:

    It's quite the difference, it seems.
  10. pielover12321

    pielover12321

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Shadow Force is quite the strange move... like feint.
  11. eric the espeon

    eric the espeon maybe I just misunderstood
    is a Forum Moderator Alumnusis a CAP Contributor Alumnusis a Researcher Alumnusis a Tiering Contributor Alumnusis a Contributor Alumnus

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,698
    Can someone please test if Damp blocks Aftermath quickly? Bulbapedia says yes, but other sources I have found don't mention it. It was brought up in the small changes thread. If it's true then I'll edit Smogon's pages, if not I'll fix Bulbapedia.
  12. Staraptor Call

    Staraptor Call

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,422
    I just tested it, and Damp really does block Aftermath damage. Golduck was not affected by a Drifloon's Aftermath after using Zen Headbutt for the KO, and I know the Golduck was Damp because it was still hit by Hail.
  13. TheKillerNacho

    TheKillerNacho

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    Messages:
    14
  14. MegaMewtwo

    MegaMewtwo

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Messages:
    2,399
    I'm going to guess that it had something to do with Knock Off. I clearly remember using Trick as a pseudo-Thief in 3rd gen and I doubt that would have changed.

    I remember Knock Off not being permanent in-game, so I guess the game disables the item but it's still on the Pokemon, and that causes strange interactions with moves that mess with items. I'm willing to bet that a Pokemon with a Knocked Off item can't steal stuff with Thief/Covet either.
  15. RBG

    RBG It feels like a perfect night to dress up like hipsters
    is a Super Moderatoris a Smogon Media Contributoris a Site Staff Alumnusis a Smogon IRC AOp Alumnusis a Researcher Alumnusis a Tiering Contributor Alumnusis a Battle Server Moderator Alumnus
    Facebook Manager

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,319
    It has actually been known that if an item is removed via knock off, trick will not work with that pokemon. Any other case of a pokemon not having an item however, will allow trick to work. This shall be edited in the on site pages.
  16. TheKillerNacho

    TheKillerNacho

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Ok, thanks, that would be helpful to explain.
  17. Stylish Interval

    Stylish Interval

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Messages:
    911
    I have a quick question, if you guys don't mind. I'm asking because I saw it come up in the SQSA thread. I looked through other research threads and did a search and even checked the site, but found nothing about this.

    After a Pokemon uses Worry Seed, does the Pokemon that was affected keep the Insomnia trait after switching out?
  18. RBG

    RBG It feels like a perfect night to dress up like hipsters
    is a Super Moderatoris a Smogon Media Contributoris a Site Staff Alumnusis a Smogon IRC AOp Alumnusis a Researcher Alumnusis a Tiering Contributor Alumnusis a Battle Server Moderator Alumnus
    Facebook Manager

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,319
    No. All ability changes are negated when leaving the battle, much like attract, confusion, ect. This includes ability changes from Skill Swap.
  19. david stone

    david stone Fast-moving, smart, sexy and alarming.
    is a Site Staff Alumnusis a Smogon IRC AOp Alumnusis a Programmer Alumnusis a Super Moderator Alumnusis a Researcher Alumnusis a Contributor Alumnusis a Battle Server Moderator Alumnus

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2005
    Messages:
    5,150
    If a contact move does 0 damage to a Pokemon with Rough Skin, does the ability still activate? To test: Endure at 1 HP with Sharpedo and hit it with a contact move.
  20. SMZ

    SMZ

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,606
    OK just tested this out, with a help of a friend; brought Sharpedo's HP down to 1 HP, went into a double battle, made Staraptor use Aerial Ace on my Sharpedo as he used Endure, then after that, Staraptor's HP wasn't reduced, so Rough Skin didn't activate.
  21. david stone

    david stone Fast-moving, smart, sexy and alarming.
    is a Site Staff Alumnusis a Smogon IRC AOp Alumnusis a Programmer Alumnusis a Super Moderator Alumnusis a Researcher Alumnusis a Contributor Alumnusis a Battle Server Moderator Alumnus

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2005
    Messages:
    5,150
    http://www.smogon.com/forums/showthread.php?p=1884855#post1884855

    According to this post / video, Magic Guard blocks Toxic Spikes entirely. However, another user claims that they remember their Clefable being poisoned in DP. It would be nice if someone could test this in HG / SS for verification in the most current game. Basically, lay down Toxic Spikes, switch a Magic Guard Pokemon into them.
  22. DDRMaster

    DDRMaster

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,670
    http://www.smogon.com/dp/articles/damage_formula
    The modifier to reduce the damage from moves like Surf in double battles happens in Mod1 while the variable BasePower stays the same.
  23. Nosferalto

    Nosferalto We're all gonna make it
    is a Team Rater Alumnus

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,735
    I just tested right now. Two layers of Toxic Spikes were layed and I switched-in Magic Guard Clefable and it did not get poisoned. So, yes, Magic Guard blocks Toxic Spikes completely.
  24. Bologo

    Bologo Have fun with birds and bees.
    is a Contributor Alumnus

    Joined:
    May 7, 2006
    Messages:
    2,841
    Hey, I was reading on bulbapedia that confusion damage (the damage dealt to oneself when confused) is a 40 BP Typeless physical move, so I was wondering, does the ability Technician raise confusion damage by 1.5x, as it would become a 60 BP move?
  25. ventus603

    ventus603

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    386
    i was thinking about this question for quite a while.

    If I used Magic Coat in doubles to deflect Dark Void, would both my pokemon be saved from sleep? Would it hit both opponents back?

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)