Teaching Yourself a Language

Rowan

The professor?
is a Community Leader Alumnusis a Community Contributor Alumnusis a Tiering Contributor Alumnusis a Contributor Alumnus
I'd really like to learn German. I learnt it for 2 years at school, yet have forgotten most of what I learnt. Hopefully the 2 years I already did it will mean I can pick it up easier than if I was starting from scratch, but basically I'm a beginner. So any tips for teaching yourself a language? Any good apps/websites I should know about?

Mq

It's Megaqwer's Time!
Weird 'tip'
I'd say just start learning the different words of german, try pronouncing them, then move to writing sentences and then learn the language's grammer?
See some youtube videos on how to pronounce certain words of that langauge...

Well....it worked for me though to learn a new language.

I hope it helps u too! :)

EDIT: If you have some friend who knows german, try talking to them, they might as well rectify your mistakes :}

Mq

It's Megaqwer's Time!
So, you do not have the teacher?
I do but whenever he used to explain something, it was hard for me to catch it so I'd to try something (see.above post) but now I am waaayyyy better at that language

I'd really like to learn German. I learnt it for 2 years at school, yet have forgotten most of what I learnt. Hopefully the 2 years I already did it will mean I can pick it up easier than if I was starting from scratch, but basically I'm a beginner. So any tips for teaching yourself a language? Any good apps/websites I should know about?
If not the most rigorous treatment of grammar and vocabulary, Duolingo is useful for reviewing basic and intermediate stuff. It helped me a lot when I had to get a grasp of Esperanto in a short timespan for a school project.

Rare Poison

if im butter then ur a hot knife
is a Tiering Contributor Alumnus