1. Welcome to Smogon! Check out the Smogon Starters Hangout for everything you need to know about starting out in the community. Don't forget to introduce yourself in the Introduction and Hangout Thread, too!
  2. Welcome to Smogon Forums! Please take a minute to read the rules.
  3. Welcome to Wi-Fi! Please remember to read the rules and do NOT create a new thread for simple trades or Friend Safari codes.

5th Gen PRNG Help / Info - Latest: RNG Reporter 9.96.5, PPRNG 1.15.0

Discussion in 'Wi-Fi' started by Slashmolder, Dec 1, 2010.

  1. klock

    klock

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,023
    So with the new Everstone changes to B2W2, I can just let one of the parent with the desire nature hold Everstone and just worry about RNG'ing for IV, is this right?
  2. voodoo pimp

    voodoo pimp Apply directly to the forehead
    is a Forum Moderator Alumnus

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,965
    RNG breeding is completely impossible in BW2, period. For non-RNG breeding, though, that could help you.
  3. Sparko33

    Sparko33

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    How do I go about RNG'ing for a Cave spot pokemon?
    I'm trying to RNG for an Excadrill on F1 of Victory road. I hit my seed and do the chatters, walk until a dust cloud pops up but its always a gem :/

    what am I doing wrong?
  4. religiousjedi

    religiousjedi Destiny likes to use #The in everything.
    is a Forum Moderatoris a Contributor to Smogon
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,813
    You're advancing the PID frame as you take steps to get the dust cloud to appear.
  5. Sparko33

    Sparko33

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    ah, so how do I get the dust cloud to show up without walking?
  6. Hozu

    Hozu RNGenius
    is a Contributor to Smogon

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,423
    You can't.
  7. Sparko33

    Sparko33

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    so how am I supposed to RNG for the excadrill? o.o I believe I've seen people who caught their drilburs/excadrill in the wild...
  8. Hozu

    Hozu RNGenius
    is a Contributor to Smogon

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,423
    You have to walk. <_<

    I mean Entralink captures require walking too.

    Edit: Prior to saving, walk around until you get a dust spot. Walk into it, end the battle (if applicable), then walk 19 steps, and save. When you load your save, you're able to generate a dust spot in one step. The PIDRNG determines if the spots show up or not. The main window of RNG reporter show what frames the spot can show up. Other than that I don't know what determines a battle from the spot or not.
  9. ShadowMonkey

    ShadowMonkey

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Messages:
    69
    When trying to RNG Latias in BW2, where exactly is the IV spread selected? Should I do my advances right at the entrance of the Dream Yard before the Latias shows up, or the very last tile before you engage the Latias in battle?
  10. Hozu

    Hozu RNGenius
    is a Contributor to Smogon

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,423
    You save on the very last tile before the encounter. So when you take the step, the battle will begin.
  11. ShadowMonkey

    ShadowMonkey

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Messages:
    69
    Thanks, going to try again.
  12. Agonist

    Agonist This god that I worship, this demon I blame
    is a Forum Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    4,359
    Make sure to battle the little boy in the doubles grass, as he will otherwise advance the PIDRNG on you.
  13. ShadowMonkey

    ShadowMonkey

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Messages:
    69
    took care of him, don't seen him anymore, or any NPC.

    also im not quite at PIDRNG yet, using synchro leads for now.

    ...umm and also what encounter type would latias be?
  14. Onicon

    Onicon

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,045
    Latias is a stationary.

    And you should get familiar with PIDRNG, because the Synchronizer just gives you more PID frames with the desired nature, it does not make the nature generation random. It is still possible to get the same (undesired) nature over and over again.
  15. Misdreavus

    Misdreavus

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,210
    Thanks. Your step 1 was just where I was a bit unsure, so that clears it up for me.

    I assume it's best to aim for different target times each time I catch a Pokémon for calibration purposes (since I will be doing it numerous times to best determine my most common Timer0) so I get my Timer0 samples from different seeds, right? Should I be sure to change up the seconds on each attempt, or is that unnecessary as long as the hour and/or minute is different?
  16. pidj

    pidj

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Hi, I've been RNG'nig in Hidden Hollows on W2 with 3DS. I've successfully RNG'd in them but I noticed a couple of observations/questions regarding RNG Reporter 9.96.5 BETA and was wondering if anyone could help me out.

    (Possibly useful information: I'm using an English copy of White2 on a 3DS. As stated above I'm using RNG Reporter 9.96.5 BETA and I have 2 profiles set up for it, one for my White and one for my White2. For the first question I definitely had the correct profile selected in the adjacent seed tool)

    1. I was aiming for an IV spread of 31/31/31/31/31/2 but when I used the Adjacent Seed tool it said that my spread for my desired seed would be 30/17/31/31/31/31. Timer0 and time/date stamp etc were all correct. I could get screenshots of what I mean if that would help.

    I have successfully hit this seed so there's no issue but I wonder why this doesn't match up?

    2. Do the Chatot pitches still match up in BW2 on the RNG reporter? From what I can tell they don't really but the number of advances was correct.
  17. Hozu

    Hozu RNGenius
    is a Contributor to Smogon

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,423
    The adjacent seed tool is forgetting to advance two IVRNG frames for that, so that is off. You're getting the right IVRNG frame in actuality.
  18. pidj

    pidj

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Thanks for the info, I was jsut curious really. Do you kow if that's a bug that'll be fixed in a future version? As I say I hit the seed eventually but it didn't help me too much when I was being Timer0 trolled and I wanted to find out what I was actually hitting
  19. Hozu

    Hozu RNGenius
    is a Contributor to Smogon

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,423
    I think you can just set the initial IVRNG frame to 3 instead of 1, and it would work just fine.
  20. ShadowMonkey

    ShadowMonkey

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Messages:
    69
    Something that is occuring often is that I am consistantly hitting the same seed, but it's not the seed I set my DS time and date too. Is that also comming from not using the PIDRNG?

    also, I can't seem to find the calculate PID seeds button on the RNG reporter, halp with that?
  21. Onicon

    Onicon

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,045
    That's the Timer0 screwing over you. It has some influence on which seed you start on. There is no way to force a Timer0, that's a reason why we calibrate: To determine the most common Timer0. It is especially bad in BW2 because there can be over ten different Timer0 when you are unlucky (in BW there usually are only 2 per cart).

    In your case, you either try until you enter the correct seed, or you calibrate some more and reconfigure your profile.
    And as for PIDRNG, let us take some pictures. We will show you in a few minutes.
  22. ShadowMonkey

    ShadowMonkey

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Messages:
    69
    well im pretty sure i already have the most common timer0 down, i've only done two successful RNGs though.
  23. Onicon

    Onicon

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,045
    Bad luck then, keep trying.

    For anyone, who wants to know how to deal with RNG Reporter and PIDRNG, here is how (please do not be offended when it happens to be a bit detailed):

    Show Hide
    [​IMG]
    Copy the seed to clipboard!

    [​IMG]
    Configure the main screen and click on the highlighted button.

    [​IMG]
    Generate; Profit?


    We told you to watch out for the PID frame, because even with a Synchronizer it is possible to get the same but wrong nature over and over.
  24. ShadowMonkey

    ShadowMonkey

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Messages:
    69
    Thanks for that, but one thing I never really understood was the chatot pitch. Does that mean it has to be a certain pitch for it to advance the frame? that's my best guess anyways.
  25. Onicon

    Onicon

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,045
    The pitch is used to determine your current PID frame - the higher the number, the higher the pitch. Take a look at the third picture:

    In the beginning, you are at your starting frame 59.
    When you listen to Chatot's cry (via status screen) you will hear a Mid(49), then advance to 60.
    Listen to Chatot again, you will hear Mid(55) (slightly higher, difficult for untrained ears), then advance to frame 61.
    Hear Mid-High (forgot to display the number, but it is higher than 55), then you advance to 62.
    Hear High(91) (obviously higher), advance to 63.
    Hear Low(8), advance to 64.

    You will notice the difference between the high and the low pitch and realize that you are on 64 of our desired seed now. Conveniently, we are also on one of our desired frames.
    Feel free to ask when there are still questions.

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 2)