1. Remember to check the Simple Questions/Simple Answers , Suggestions , Bug Reports and Technical Support threads before posting. If you have something that warrants extended discussion then post a thread, but when in doubt, please use an already existing thread
  2. New to the forums? Check out our Mentorship Program!
    Our mentors will answer your questions and help you become a part of the community!
  3. Welcome to Smogon Forums! Please take a minute to read the rules.

Pokemon Showdown (original announcement)

Discussion in 'Pokémon Showdown!' started by Zarel, Oct 7, 2011.

  1. Pwnemon

    Pwnemon judges silently
    is a Tutoris a Forum Moderatoris a Community Contributoris a Tiering Contributoris a Contributor to Smogonis a Smogon Media Contributor
    Doubles Co-Lead

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,771
    Sleep clause on Showdown AS OF NOW works exactly like PO's did. I remember a while ago Zarel made a thread on suggestions for implementing sleep clause that would work with cartridge mechanics and i think the general consensus was along the lines of "fuck it this works fine" (?) I don't expect sleep clause to be changed from PO's for Meloetta but it may be
  2. Dietrich

    Dietrich

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    125
    Pokemon Showdown looks so good and it´s fun to play with those animations, I like to see the animation when the attack fails or hit another pokemon with Protect. There´s only one thing I miss from PO and that´s to way you place the effort points to your Pokemon.

    I was wondering if it´s posible to run Pokemon Showdown on a LG Optimus me? or maybe another smartphones like Samsung Galaxy Ace plus or maybe Nokia Lumia 710/800? (If it´s true then I think it´s time to buy me one lol)
  3. Isoka

    Isoka

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    it's a verry amazing idea !!! i love !
  4. No. 1 Machop Fan

    No. 1 Machop Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    218
    It has no Dream World tier, and it takes up more usage (not everyone is rich enough to afford unlimited Internet). BRING BACK POKÉMON ONLINE!
  5. akela

    akela

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2012
    Messages:
    4,310
    Might I suggest a How To command? One that explains how to import from PO, changing avatars, registering a name, et cetera. I know /help gives /avatar, but that still leaves members of the chat trying to explain importing from po amidst multiple other conversations and people not understanding who is replying to what.
  6. AuraRayquaza

    AuraRayquaza

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    Messages:
    615
    i must say that i like the teambuilder better on PO than PS. This is because it is so much easier to use (in my eyes) than PS. but i really like the import from PO button which makes my life a lot easier. other than that it is great!
  7. vandslaux

    vandslaux

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Messages:
    34
    I tried it, and this is amazing. However, if we desire to be as close to the games as possible, then we should disable the ability to scroll over the opponent's pokemon and see their items for 2 reasons.

    A. This is not accurate to the games

    B. It ruins bluff strategies
  8. akela

    akela

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2012
    Messages:
    4,310
    In the 4 months I have been on Showdown, the only way you can see your opponent's items is through trick or the item activating. Would you mind posting the screenshots of it?
  9. Zarel

    Zarel Not a Yuyuko fan
    is a member of the Site Staffis a Battle Server Administratoris a Programmeris a Pokemon Researcheris an Administrator
    Creator of PS

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,802
    What akela said.

    Pokemon Showdown will only show you your opponent's item if the item is specifically mentioned (such as "Magnezone is floating on a balloon!")

    To make sure no information is leaked, the server will only send exactly the information that appears on an actual Pokemon game's screen to the cartridge. The client will then keep track of the game state itself "There was a Taunt message a few turns ago, but there hasn't been a Taunt wearing-off message yet, so this pokemon is Taunted". There's even a setting to make damage percentages calculated from the number of pixels lost on the HP bar, since you can't see your opponent's actual HP.
  10. Cefiro

    Cefiro

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Messages:
    139
    I LOVE the random battle system! No more water guns when you can have surf or HP. Seriously, the random battles, omigawd so fun.

    THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU.
  11. DarkpoolFantasia

    DarkpoolFantasia

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    aww, i'm sad. showdown is down right now :P
  12. 5thgenerator

    5thgenerator

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    This system is so much more convenient than previous simulators. Thank you so much!
  13. How do you register for Pokemon showdown? I'm confused...
  14. akela

    akela

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2012
    Messages:
    4,310
    You select a name. You get into a rated battle (which means, do not challenge/be challenged by anybody, to not select unrated battle). You win the rated battle when the ladder is working. You select a password. You are now registered.
  15. zenaly

    zenaly

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    does this infringe game freak copyright? id hate to see it taken down
  16. Arcticblast

    Arcticblast LOL STAFF FAG
    is a Tiering Contributoris a Forum Moderator Alumnusis a Community Contributor Alumnusis a Battle Server Moderator Alumnusis a SPL Winner
    Mentor

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    Messages:
    5,425
    If PS is infringing a copyright, then so was Shoddy Battle, and that never got taken down due to infringement so...
  17. phoopes

    phoopes The Boss
    is a Battle Server Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,046
    Yeah, stuff like PS, Smogon, and other stuff like Serebii and all that just promote the Pokemon brand, so if anything, GameFreak loves this stuff.
  18. Weber

    Weber

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    I know I'm probably whining right now, and I know a lot of people are complaining about it already, but really, during the peak hours PS is close to being unplayable due to lag. It's just a thought, but have you considered placing a cap on the server for now? Something like 400 people max? This way at least some people will have a good experience rather than everyone having a bad one.
  19. verbatim

    verbatim Red like Roses
    is a Battle Server Administratoris a Smogon IRC AOPis a Forum Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Messages:
    1,411
    There are still a few things we can do (and are in the process of doing) to dramatically cut down on lag, so a drastic step like that is not necessary at this time. For the moment, we are turning off the lobby chat whenever lag gets extremely harsh.
  20. coyotte508

    coyotte508
    is a Programmer Alumnus

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    157
    It's been a year, however since the behavior of PO and PS still are different on this... http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7XKd8Rj4b4Y

    Custap activates not at the end of the turn, but at the beginning of next turn (so PO's behavior has been correct all along). Custap gets released tomorrow with VGC events, it would be better to have it working correctly on PS when it's available in the OU tier!
  21. HRforges

    HRforges

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    I'm having trouble with the site on my iPad. It won't let me scroll down anywhere on the site.
  22. HRforges

    HRforges

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    I don't know if this is the right spot to post this but whatever.
    I have noticed that I am not the only one that has problems with PS whilst using an iPad and vie been told by a friend that the chrome browser for iPad fixes the not being able to scroll problem but creates more lag (on an iPad it still lags on safari event when connected to high speed wireless Internet).
    In general I would like for PS to become more compatible with the iPad/other mobile devices that don't run android since I heard android has less problems but I wouldn't know. Also I personally have a problem with PS on my iPad because iTunes won't let me update past 4.2 because it hates me so I can't get chrome so finding out whether a friend is on or not is tedious to say the least. 1 final thing. I think that you should in general optimize it more for the iPad and other such devices.
  23. Jelandee

    Jelandee
    is a Battle Server Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2012
    Messages:
    39
    Ehh well from my experience, PS! is just as laggy on Android. I tried running it on an Android tablet, and i've witnessed the same results. Though that's just due to my crappy internet I suppose, as i've heard from several users being quite successful with it. It's just that PS! isn't particularly designed to run well on mobile devices anyway. However, as Zarel has said before, he is making a "real" mobile app for it, which tend to be less laggy, in my case at least.
  24. Zarel

    Zarel Not a Yuyuko fan
    is a member of the Site Staffis a Battle Server Administratoris a Programmeris a Pokemon Researcheris an Administrator
    Creator of PS

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,802
    As mentioned several times, PS really isn't optimized for mobile devices right now. It'll sort of work but be somewhat-to-really slow (depending on how good your mobile device is), this is known, and I'd generally recommend you use a laptop/desktop if that's a problem.
  25. Mr cookies

    Mr cookies

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Just making my first post to thank you for this, Its a bit late and all but I dont really care. You've donde some unbeliveable work here dude, congrats.

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)