1. New to the forums? Check out our Mentorship Program!
    Our mentors will answer your questions and help you become a part of the community!
  2. Welcome to Smogon Forums! Please take a minute to read the rules.

Programming PPRNG (Mac & iOS)

Discussion in 'Technical Projects' started by chiizu, Mar 29, 2011.

  1. Prog89

    Prog89

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Ok thank you!
    Sorry, another question, I noticed that you used a Phat DS for the Dram Radar Method, is that possible?
  2. chiizu

    chiizu PPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPP RNG
    is a Programmeris a Pokemon Researcher

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    423
    You only need the 3DS to send the Pokemon to your B2W2 game. The actual RNG abuse can be done on any DS type.

    Also, if you happen to have a White 2 Italian game and a DSi or 3DS, you could help out all the Italian game users by helping us get the info we need for DSi / 3DS support. Check this post for details.
  3. Prog89

    Prog89

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Sure I help ;)!
    And I also invite friends to help!!
  4. RNGabuse

    RNGabuse

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Please make this happen! It would be truly amazing and I could see it selling for $10 easy :)
  5. Agonist

    Agonist He had seen it, felt it's might, bent under
    is a Forum Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    4,308
    Show Hide
    [​IMG]

    there's an issue with the highlighted frame. ESV 7 should be a Grimer, but instead I ended up with a female Lv. 17 A1 Rattata, which is either slots 8 or 10. The nearest frame that could be a result is 18 frames away, which doesn't make any sense, considering there aren't any WNPCs in the room I'm using.

    If you want I can upload the captured Rattata to Pokecheck.
  6. RNGabuse

    RNGabuse

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    If you upload the Rattata to pokecheck maybe I could be of some help.
  7. opkil

    opkil

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    Messages:
    84
    Hi Chiizu, really loving the updates.

    I have no problems whatsoever with Dream Radar RNG and Hidden Hollow RNG.
    However, when I'm attempting to RNG the IVs of something Stationary and/or within a Hidden Hollow, I seem to be able to repeatedly hit a set of IVs, but they're not what I want.

    Let's say that I need 31/31/31/31/31/31. I will hit a seed for 13/13/13/13/13/13. If I keep retrying that seed, it'll keep giving me 13/13/13/13/13/13. I don't seem to see the IVs I hit anywhere near 31/31/31/31/31/31 on the adjacents.

    I noticed that when I go into the Standard Seed Inspector, my parameters are correct, then Chosen Game reads "blank", and the only options are Black and White(various languages) and Black 2 (JP) White 2(JP).
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    Except that I've already indicated that I'm using Black 2 (Eng) on my DS Parameters screen. And that it worked fine with the other RNG methods(Dream Radar and Hidden Hollow Generation)

    Is it the problem of PPRNG or is it Timer0 trolling me so hard I don't even know it?

    So, yup. Thank you!
  8. RNGabuse

    RNGabuse

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Hey there, just a quick question about your problem. Did you make sure to set your IV frame between 1~1 and not the default 1~? Because then that could explain hitting a different IV frame every time. Other than that I think it would just be Timer0 trolling. Also don't worry about the blank game slot, I'm pretty sure its just a glitch. The program still knows that you're using White 2 or Black 2.
  9. RNGabuse

    RNGabuse

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Oh and a typo 1~6 not 1~? lol
  10. Agonist

    Agonist He had seen it, felt it's might, bent under
    is a Forum Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    4,308
  11. opkil

    opkil

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    Messages:
    84
    Hm, I didn't set IV Frame to 1~1, because I was assuming 1~6 opened up more results. Would that help?
    Because I really can keep hitting a seed consistently just not what I want, and I'm all..."what?"
  12. RNGabuse

    RNGabuse

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Ahhh I see your problem. You are correct, leaving it at 1~6 would increase your results, but just like with PID frames you need to advance your IV frame as well. Take note though that you don't use chatot pitches to increase your IV frame, instead you can increase it by 1 by walking 128 steps with X amount of pokemon in your party. So if you walk 128 steps with 1 pokemon in your party it will increase your IV frame by 1, if you walk 128 with 2 pokemon it will increase by 2, etc... But, this method is very dangerous in the case of moving NPCs so I suggest only searching for your desired IVs from 1~1 as you will get those IVs if you hit your Timer0. Good luck!
  13. RNGabuse

    RNGabuse

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    I'll be home in 15 mins, I'll check it out when I am. :)
  14. RNGabuse

    RNGabuse

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Ummmm alright your case is very strange. To start off, you said that the closest ESV 8 or 10 frame you found was 18 frames away. I just double checked that and found and ESV 10 SYNC nature most likely female frame only 8 away. But also you said your area has no moving NPCs :/ Now I'm sure Chiizu could help you a bit more with your problem, but just try one time to stop your Chatot advancements on frame 143 and see if you hit 151. Hope that helps.

    Scratch my reply, you're right the closest is 18 frames away. I forgot to account for ability, silly me. So yea I'd wait for a reply from Chiizu.

    WOW I also just realized that the PID that pokecheck gives for your Rattata is 7BD77354 which is supposed to be the PID for your Grimer. So then this must be some sort of bug.
  15. opkil

    opkil

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    Messages:
    84
    Yup, I am fully aware of that part. I'm hitting a seed with an IV Frame of 1! My problem isn't hitting the seed or advancing the frame, my problem here is that I seem to be hitting the wrong seed! XD
  16. RNGabuse

    RNGabuse

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Okay if you're not hitting the correct seed, I'd suggest double checking that you have the date and time set correctly on your DS. Also take a look at Adjacents in the Standard Seed Inspector and mess around with the seconds value to see if you're not hitting the correct second. Other than that I think that's about all the advice I can give :( I wish you luck. :)
  17. chiizu

    chiizu PPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPP RNG
    is a Programmeris a Pokemon Researcher

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    423
    I'm pretty sure you are running version 1.14.0 after having run 1.14.1 and/or 1.14.2. Please delete all versions of PPRNG on your machine except 1.14.2. Then run your seed search again.
  18. Paul493

    Paul493

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Nothing comes up when I hit search on the Standard Seed Searcher...not even the blue progress bar...is there a way to fix this?[​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]
  19. chiizu

    chiizu PPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPP RNG
    is a Programmeris a Pokemon Researcher

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    423
    Investigating this will probably have to wait until I get home. It's strange that your game version is blank, though. Can you tell me which game version and which location you are RNGing?

    Your screenshots are not visible / accessible. Please post your screenshots on one of the many free image hosting sites out there. I can't help you otherwise.
  20. opkil

    opkil

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    Messages:
    84
    Hi Chiizu, I just tried this, but the problem still persists. Are there any 'hidden' folders I should be deleting?
  21. chiizu

    chiizu PPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPP RNG
    is a Programmeris a Pokemon Researcher

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    423
    Could you please give me a screenshot of your Standard Seed Searcher or whichever searcher you are using that shows the search results that are giving you the problem?

    I can tell you for a fact that if you were trying to use search results produced by 1.14.0 after you had already used 1.14.2, those search results will be wrong and will give you seeds that produce random IVs, so you definitely need to rerun the search with version 1.14.2.
  22. Agonist

    Agonist He had seen it, felt it's might, bent under
    is a Forum Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    4,308
    W2, and I was RNGing in the Castelia Sewers, in a small room with a female scientist (the one who gives you different potions every day).
  23. chiizu

    chiizu PPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPP RNG
    is a Programmeris a Pokemon Researcher

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    423
    I've taken a look at this seed, and from everything I can tell it should be slot 7 (the RNG value used is right in the middle of the slot 7 range, so it's not an edge case). The only possibilities I can imagine are:

    1. You have a Pokemon in the lead of your party with an ability that somehow affects the encounter slots. Given that you have synchronize chosen, I guess that's not true.
    2. You had some sort of power up from a Funfest or Entralink mission active that has some effect on what you encounter.
    3. The encounter slots for that room are not correct.

    Also, your screenshot identified a bug (inspectors are missing the non-Japanese b2w2 games from the version menu), so thanks.
  24. Agonist

    Agonist He had seen it, felt it's might, bent under
    is a Forum Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    4,308
    Nope, no Entralink/Funfest missions active or Pass Powers being used. And the encounter slots are correct for that room as well, I RNGed a Grimer with another seed in the same room.
  25. chiizu

    chiizu PPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPP RNG
    is a Programmeris a Pokemon Researcher

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    423
    Sorry. Upon reinvestigation, I realized I had been looking at the wrong frame while stepping through in the debugger. It looks like this is hitting an edge case after all. It will take some further research to work out the correct ESV calculation, but what is currently there works correctly is the vast majority of cases (I can't give an actual percentage of cases where it's correct, but I would guess over 95%).

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)